We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband I and took our honeymoon to Le Petit Hotel and had a wonderful time. The rooms were very nice and the bed was so comfortable. We don't like resorts or cruise ports, and Grand Case was a great 'get away' from all that. The hotel was quiet and we slept with our door open so we could hear the ocean. There were some FANTASTIC restaurants within walking distance (I highly recommend Spiga) and some wonderful 'hidden' beaches as well. There's also a grocery store nearby and a kitchen in the room so you can prepare meals there as well. The staff at Le Petit were also very helpful and friendly. We would love to go back to someday and frequently recommend Le Petit to our friends who are planning their honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepope2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
425
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Le Petit Hotel is exactly what we were looking for. The website was completely accurate, in fact we were even more impressed in person. The location is perfect so if you are debating on which part of the island to stay, look no further than Grand Case. There are so many fabulous restaurants just a short walk from the front door of Le Petit Hotel. Bistrot Cairibes, Cafecito and Piazza Pascal were favorites. The staff at Le Petit Hotel could not be more welcoming or helpful. Once we arrived everything was so relaxing. The beach front location for this gem, is ideal, a balcony over looking the white sands and blue water, exactly like the postcards. The best part was the balcony design that included a shutter door that let in the sounds of waves gently rolling below. The only way to sleep in St. Martin. Clean, Comfortable and Fabulous. We split our week between Le Petit Hotel and the hotel's sister property L'Esplanade so please check that review as well!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetset1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Finding the perfect spot for a honeymoon getaway is hard work, especially with all of the other planning that comes with a wedding. When we arrived at Le Petit, we felt so pleased by our choice. It's fresh, intimate, off-the-beaten-path and enough of a splurge to feel like a honeymoon should feel. The 10 rooms are generously sized with fantastic kitchen amenities, luxe linens and Damana bath products. The hotel staff, including Stephanie (front desk) and Jesus (night guard) are friendly, and accommodating.

In response to another posting, the short walk into town is somewhat unnerving late at night, but I consider it just something that comes along with finding a place as charming and personal at Le Petit. Plus, the walk is worth it. The restaurants in Grand Case are extraordinary. We checked out a different one each night of our honeymoon, never got bored, and fell in love with French cuisine and the lolos (a St. Martin term for an open-air BBQ joint). Grand Case is the perfect fusion of French luxury and Carribean care-free.

With a coupon I printed from Trip Advisor, I felt like we got an amazing value, and would recommend it highly to other honeymooners and couples who prefer boutique travel.

Other tips:
- Renting a car in St. Martin is a must if you plan to check out other beaches. We rented a Jeep Wrangler and found it perfect for the beat-up unpaved roads leading to many out of the way beaches.
- Avoid the Dutch side - especially Phillipsburg Cruise ship tourist hell.
- A wonderful supermarket is just a minute down the road. I could spend hours in there checking out all of the imported French cheeses.
- Our favorite beach was Le Gallion. The restaurant there was fantastic
- Go surfing at Le Gallion. Outings by Franck are at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. This was a highlight of our trip. Perfect for beginners and experienced surfers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eurojamie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at Le Petit Hotel in July for our honeymoon. The positives are:
The rooms are very nice and very clean. All rooms have a porch on the back that overlook the beach. The staff left us a bottle of champagne in the fridge for us. The kitchenettes are super and it was nice to be able to keep some food in our room. The hotel staff is very accomodating and helpful. The croissants and pastries the inn puts out in the mornings are also very nice and delicious.
The negatives in my opinion are:
This hotel is a B&B in the middle of local apartments on a busy street with the beach in the back. We would've liked the air conditioning to work a bit better in the middle of the night because we were waking up hot, but they did have a really strong ceiling fan that would blow your hair off if you wanted it to! The busy road in front of the hotel is heavily traveled by locals on loud mopeds and motorcycles so that can be a bit annoying if you are trying to sleep. We walked into Grand Case for dinner most nights which you can get to via the road or the beach. We took the road most times, which doesn't have sidewalks for half the way, and in my opinion very dangerous. All the local residents are hanging out on the street, but never said a word to us, however I found the traffic on this walk to dinner and back very unnerving. We did walk down to one restaurant via the beach but I didn't want to walk home on the beach in the dark because there would be even fewer witnesses if something happened. Better safe than sorry I say.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAPeach-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed during the first week in April, 2010. We were very happy with Le Petit Hotel. It was very clean and the pictures on the internet were accurate. We loved being right on the beach (there are rocks right out front), nice beach to walk and there are restaurants within walking distance. Stephanie helped arrange several tours we went on, snorkeling to Creole Rock and another snorkeling trip on a great sail boat.
We love the french side of the island, great restauraunts and love the beaches. Stephanie also arranged for our car rental and it was waiting for us at the hotel when we arrived which was convienient. We loved the morning coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, and the fresh pastries. We had a great week and enjoyed our stay at Le Petit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pieLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed for three nights in April. The hotel is immaculate, not a spec of rust, furnishings and décor very nice. The service was very good and the lady at the front desk always had a smile and was willing to help.
The hotel is on the main street and your room is probably less than 100 ft from the front street, so we heard street noise at night. The beach is right out the back door, but is is not a very deep beach, saw very few people on the beach. The hotel is at one end of the town, and while you can walk to the restaurants the sidewalks are not great. The Grand Case beach is a real mix, a few hotels, a few beach bars, many run down residences, very odd mix.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtexan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We just returned from an absolutely perfect 4 night stay at Le Petit Hotel. It was exactly the type of place we were looking for. If you want a high quality, quiet, small hotel on the beach with an European feel and excellent restaurants a short walk away, this is the place for you. If you prefer a large resort with pools, kids' activities, and several bars and restaurants, go elsewhere! Le Petit is located right on the beach at one end of Grand Case bay and all the rooms (there are only 10 of them) face the ocean. It will take about 35 minutes to drive there from SXM airport. As others have said, renting a car was invaluable for us - Stephanie, the manager, can arrange this for you in advance so you are picked up at the airport and driven to the hotel to find your rental waiting. We rented a Hyundai Getz for $30/day which was ideal for St. Martin's narrow roads. We were told later it was also a good vehicle to detract thieves - we had no problems but we always locked our doors and never left any visible items when we left our car. Keep in mind gas is about $5 a gallon.
We stayed in one of the third floor rooms - it was spacious, with nice wooden furniture and a kitchenette. A microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and cooking utensils are all included. The bathroom is small but perfectly adequate. We ate breakfast on our terrace everyday with beautiful views of the ocean and Anguilla. We picked up breakfast right next to the reception window - they have coffee, fresh OJ, croissants, pain au chocolat, and some other pastries. You fix yourself what you want and bring it to your room. At night, we fell asleep with the sound of the waves breaking on the shore below.
The walk to the town of Grand Case is about 10 minutes long either on the beach or by the road. There are few sidewalks so we preferred the beach route during the day. The town itself is small and quaint, with several fine restaurants serving excellent food. We ate at La California for lunch - an outstanding shrimp and scallop pizza (for a mere $29!!!). We also tried Le Cottage for dinner - the hostess was over the top in a funny way, describing the various dishes as "an explosion in your mouth" and "paradise!" with a heavy French accent. From just looking at the menus in the various places, the choices were incredible and all were expensive (you can easily spend $75 per person for an appetizer, dinner with a drink, and a shared dessert). We had the most incredible chocolate profiterole for dessert at L'Escapade. There were 2 scoops of chocolate ice cream, chocolate mousse, and warm bitter chocolate. Wow! We also ate at one of the several lolos, Sky's the Limit. For $10 they give you a plate of delicious grilled chicken (or ribs or steak), potato salad, mac and cheese, spaghetti, broccoli and salad. Perfect with Carib beer. Hard to beat! BTW, if you drive to Grand Case, there is a large well-lit parking lot at the East end.
In our opinion, the beach in front of Le Petit was fine, but the best beach was a 5 minute drive away at Friars Bay. The water was calm and the beach was not at all crowded. There are 2 restaurants there - we ate at Friars Beach Cafe which was excellent. If you can find Happy Bay from here, it is well worth the 15 minute hike to get there. We also spent a day at Pinel Island. You take a 5 minute ferry from Cul de Sac ($7 round trip). The water is perfect for snorkeling and there are 3 restaurants as soon as you arrive. We tried Yellow Beach cafe and shared some outstanding grilled lobster (again, quite expensive at close to $50 per person but worth it in our opinion). All the beaches we went to had some topless women, including several with their own children. Happy Bay had some nude men and women, but it was really no big deal for us.
Through Stephanie, we booked an hour of horseback riding at Galion Bay - first time riding for both of us but it was a lot of fun. We briefly went to Orient Beach - if you're looking to kite surf, jet ski, etc. and are interested in a wide open more touristy/commercial beach with bars and nightlife, this is the place for you. We never really ventured to the Dutch side, but our impression of it going back to the airport was much more commercial and not as pretty. To be fair, we only caught a glimpse, so it is really hard to judge.
Le Petit is located a short drive from almost everything. There is no bar or restaurant at the hotel itself but there are small supermarkets in Grand Case. If you want a large American style supermarket, turn left from the hotel and drive 5 mins to US Market . They have pretty much everything you will need if you choose to make meals, drink wine, and eat some cheese in your room or on your terrace. There is a DVD rental place right next door if you're interested. Do try to briefly go to the outdoor market in Marigot Harbor (open daily except Sunday) for souvenirs. One last thing: several places still do the $1=1 euro but only if you pay in cash. The more upscale restaurants do not do this, but we still thought it was worth it several times. You can only get dollars at an ATM on the main road just into the Dutch side, so either bring lots of cash or go there! Dollars are accepted everywhere as are euros.
Overall, we absolutely loved our stay at Le Petit and certainly hope to return. The location, very friendly staff, and a quiet, relaxed atmosphere made for a perfect vacation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Havefuneatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing