We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, especially for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, especially for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

In short: highly recommend, great location, room, and service; will definitely stay here if going to St Martin-----We split our time between the Dutch and French sides, and Le Petit really epitomized what the French side is all about. The room was superb (decor, bed, bathroom, kitchen--all very modern and very practical). Great location, too--right on the beach, which is well worth it even if you're not able to book a ground-level location (we were in a balcony room). Every evening was a nice beach walk to a fine Grand Case restaurant, and the same coming back. The staff (hi Jean-Francois and Anna!) were exceptionally friendly and professional, and they really do what they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When research hotels, I thought that the small size of Le Petit would be a handicap in terms of service, but it's not; they're really committed to making your vacation enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't be worried if you can't book a ground-level room on the beach. We had a balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcup90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
422
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

A very relaxing and comfortable stay at Le Petit. The staff was gracious and welcoming, and our room was fabulous. I did not want to leave. You can fall asleep to the sound of the waves and ocean breezes, and enjoy a delicious breakfast on your private balcony. We were on the third floor with a sunny balcony overlooking the beach. Bed was comfortable and all the room amenities were top notch. If you are visiting Grand Case, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently spent eight nights at Le Petit Hotel in Grand Case. We had heard a recommendation from a friend about its sister hotel L'Esplanade and as we researched it we decided to try Le Petit due to its location right on the beach. We made a great choice and will stay here again if we visit St. Martin in the future.

The staff is very responsive when e-mailing about reserving a room. Then when you meet them, Anne and Jean Francoise, you realize what helpful and nice people they are. They both provided good recommendations and helped us find our way. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and we had a 2nd story room with an amazing view of the beach, water and Grand Case. It is nice to have a small kitchen even though we didn't cook there, we used the refrigerator and the microwave.

We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast that is provided each morning with fresh fruit, quiche, croissants, bread, yogurt, juice and coffee. It is an easy walk along the beach (preferred) or road (busy with small sidewalk/shoulder, so keep aware) to a number of good restaurants on restaurant row in Grand Case.

We spent time on the beach and when we wanted to use the pool, we took the nice beach walk to L'Esplanade for their pool. The staff there is very helpful as well, providing towels and of course the bar at the pool. Also, I went diving a few days with Octopus Diving, which happens to be located in Grand Case near L'Esplanade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Want to feel like you are alone on the beach, near awesome restaurants, but with no hustle and bustle and noisy parties to stress you out? This is the place.
Flew into Sint Maartin, rented a car, drove out here and parked my butt for 2 days before venturing out.
Beach access suite is worthwhile, and I have stayed here 4 times.
I like getaway vacations, but I do like being able to jump in my own car, whenever I want , and go on my own "excursion". For someone who wants an all-inclusive place. and get pampered... it's not for you.
Ask the front desk to go up to the sister hotel and take on some great sites from their pool. Also, they can give you the name of some great massage therapists who can make a house call.
Super clean, quiet, stress-less. perfect and cheap.

Room Tip: beach access is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank traveltowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
359 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the favourite hotels we've stayed in anywhere. Lovely location right on the beach, rooms are top-quality, breakfast is great (I looked forward to the coffee and truly fresh-squeezed OJ alone every morning), Jean-Francois and Anne-Laure are so helpful on everything, and where else can you walk to such an amazing array of great restaurants.

We're coming back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Le Petit Hotel in Grand Case February 26-March 4. As many other guests have mentioned the hotel and staff are wonderful. Jean-Francois and Ana were always available to help with questions, make reservations, provide directions, advice etc. even after the front desk closed (Jean-Francois is in the house right next to the hotel.)

We stayed in #8 which is in the center of the 3rd floor. The view was amazing and water was very beautiful and warm this time of year with minimal humidity. The room was very nice. It smelled good and the cleaning staff did an excellent job keeping the room clean. I forgot to close my safe one day and they closed it for me, nothing was taken. I thought the bathroom and shower in particular were very nice. The shower had very good water pressure and the fixture was a huge Rain type shower head that was just perfect after a day at the beach.

A few comments about things others have said:

Safety - at no time did we feel unsafe on the island. I was a bit paranoid after reading some other posts but if you use common sense you will be fine. The hotel had a security guard (very friendly) that kept and eye on the property. Our rental car was parked in front and we did not have any break ins or damage to it.

Walk to Grand Case shopping and restaurants: the road is narrow and busy but in my opinion wasn't that bad. We walked it every night for dinner and drinks. Just pay attention to the traffic. Less than 10 minutes to reach all of the fine restaurants its worth it. We didn't walk the beach at night so I can't comment on how safe it is.

Food- spectacular with a wide variety of options right down the street. The lolo's were great. Loved Talk of the Town. We dined at most of the fine french restaurants and they were all great. Food was excellent and friendly service.

Beach in Front of the hotel - there are some rocks but just a few yards down it was fine. it was fairly calm when we were there and I actually swam right in front of the hotel. The hotel let me borrow a snorkel and mask.

Mosquito's - got a few bites. Definitely bring bug spray. The room had a very good quality screen door leading to the balcony. If you are diligent, bugs will not get past the screen.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Saint Martin

Room Tip: I would probably stay on the Grand Case side of the Hotel for a better view of Grand Case. Rooms 6 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1cabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Le Petit Hotel in Grand Case St. Martin February 12-17, 2013. This hotel is amazing. Right on the beach with a beautiful view of the bay. The furnishings were spectacular, all high end appliances and a bed to die for. Breakfast in the morning was a wonderful treat. Restaurants are just a short walk down the road and lots to choose from, the best is the local LoLo's. You can't beat the price and the amount of food you get.
We are looking forward to returning to this little gem.

Room Tip: No tips required, all rooms are good. All ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank schaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing