We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Lovely Hotel; Great Staff”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed one night at Le Petit Hotel before moving on to our final destination on St. Martin. If given an opportunity we will stay there again. Actually, we checked out Le Petit on our last trip. We stayed in room #5, which they classify as a second floor deluxe studio. I'd say that is a fair designation. King size bed, sitting area, small kitchenette, and a shaded balcony overlooking Baie de Grand Case. Everything seems to be of very high quality. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Very eager to make sure the guests are happy. In an absolutely perfect world Le Petit would probably be located just a short distance up the beach. But I'm not certain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Le Petit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 586 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night as were hop-scotching between islands. The room was beautiful with a well-equipped kitchenette. The hotel is right on the water with a great view of the beach and Caribbean. Several restaurants are a 10 minute walk up the beach. We were disappointed that our room was not ready when we arrived even though the reservation form asked for our arrival time and flight number. The business area in Grand Case is only about a mile away, but we took a taxi because there was no real sidewalk.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-townNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcpingc, Owner at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with Le Petit Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed that your room was not ready when you arrived. Generally speaking, check out is at noon and check in is at 4pm. Our rooms are always ready by 4pm and of course if they are ready prior to 4pm, guests are most welcome to check in immediately upon arriving at the hotel. We ask for flight arrival times because it allows us to better organize our day, i.e. if someone is arriving at noon and another at 9pm, obviously the noon arrival takes precedent in regards to turning the room over (check out/check in). If any readers have any questions or concerns, please feel free to email our resident manager Jean Francois at info@lepetithotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Le Petit was a wonderful break from the standard resort style hotels. Very accommodating to your travel plans and a beautiful little place. While it is on the beach and has great views it is not where you want to do your swimming and sunning but not far are many other nice swimming beaches.
The atmosphere is wonderful!
We rented a Studio that had a nice kitchenette and the breakfast pastries, fresh from local shops along with the fresh fruit, juice, and coffee was excellent. Just a short walk to the lolo`s and restaurants as well as some local shops.
If you stay you will be happy you did.

Room Tip: The second floor are all balcony rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Petit Hotel in May 2012 and adored every thoughtful detail...

We used the rental car company Le Petit recommended: pure convenience to have a driver waiting to pick us up from the airport and drive us immediately across the island to the hotel. You complete the paperwork at the hotel and are left with the car keys...Leaving you with more time to enjoy your room and the ocean! Jean-Francois, the inn keeper, was extremely helpful, professional, and always had a smile on his face.

Upon entering our room for the first time, we were greeted with small bouquets of fresh flowers adorning the small dining table, the bed, and even in the bathroom. Lovely and elegant touches of fine linens, teak and ceramic. Gorgeous ocean view off of the balcony. I saw that one submitter said the ocean was too rough to swim in at this location... Not for us! We had purely calm seas that barely lapped at the shoreline.. Perhaps a weather issue - not a location issue.

Regarding Grand Case and Le Petit Hotel in relation to the main area of town... Grand Case is not well designed for American tourists who are accustomed to wide sidewalks, huge parking lots and patient drivers. There are no sidewalks. None. To walk to the restaurants, my husband and I would walk along the ocean for awhile, before heading up between two of the restaurants to the streets. We never felt in danger (as in a bad neighborhood) but did prefer to walk in the sand with plenty of room versus hugging the buildings and weeds along side the road. After a few days, we became bolder while walking the streets - and never came to any harm.

The brave walk to the restaurants is completely worth it. Because we went in the "off" season, we were able to enjoy ocean-front seating at every restaurant without reservations or even a wait! We chose Grand Case because it was touted as the "Gourmet Capital of the Caribbean." It held true to its name. Whether at a casual barbecue or a five star restaurant, it was all delicious. French influences, but you can find most any cuisine you may be craving. Wherever you are, I recommend the fresh seafood (I had 14 different types of fish and seafood while in St. Maarten...all sublime!) So yes, if you are a foodie, come find this small town gem and deal with the fact that there are no sidewalks.

But back to Le Petit... We loved the bathrobes they provide during our stay. We loved that at night, we could run the air conditioning and still hear the ocean waves. We loved the fresh squeezed orange juice that was served with scrumptious croissants for breakfast. We loved that the cleaning service would also wash the dishes and put them away. We loved the chilled bottle of champagne that was in the refrigerator upon our arrival. We loved the iPod/iPhone doc in the entertainment center. We loved the friendly service. We loved the view from our balcony and the warm breeze in the morning. We loved it all.

I dream about going back to Le Petit!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor suites have the added advantage of being covered.. Nice to be in the shade when it'...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a very cute hotel in Grand Case, but I did not love the area that it was in. Although the hotel is right on Grand Case beach and it was nice to walk along the beach during the day, the ocean on that part of the beach was too rough to swim in. The hotel is a 5 min drive to all of the good restaurants in Grand Case and very close to the airport, but it does not seem to be the nicest part of town. (I wouldn't walk around there at night).

The room that we stayed in was very nice and we had a beautiful view of Grand Case beach. The breakfast in the morning was also very good and convenient. The staff members were all very nice and accommodating. But I did find the rate to be a bit high for the type of place that it is. It is more like a small boutique inn, but I guess St. Martin hotels are just very expensive this time of year.

Overall, the hotel itself is a great find and a very nice place to stay in St. Martin, but I am not sure that I would choose to go back to St. Martin over some of the other nearby islands.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Money can't buy perfect harmony of luxury, tranquility, and the Caribbean - but you can find it anyway at Le Petit Hotel. The Mediterranean structure, refined room decor and sounds of waves seemed perfect - and then a complimentary bottle made it perfect. Treat yourself well - stay here.

Room Tip: Don't fret about it
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

People make the difference. Jean Francois & Anne-Laure are at the heart of why this boutique hotel is as good as it is. Whatever you need... whenever you need it. Jean-Francois lives in a house right next to this 10-room gem so, if he's not in the office, he's never far away. The continental breakfast is super: buttery regular, chocolate and pear croissants; yogurt, fresh fruit; juice; milk; espresso and coffee; baguette & butter; jams... and all ready to be put on beautifully decorated trays to be brought to your room and enjoyed on your own terrace overlooking the ocean. And the car company they recommended (Justice) conveniently picks you up at the airport and brings you to Le Petit Hotel where your car is waiting. The return trip to the airport was similarly supplied by the rental company. And there was no charge for this service. The room (we had #10 on the 3rd floor) was modern, and well appointed: full fridge, two-burner stove with full oven; sink; all dishes, wine glasses, cutlery - the kitchen away from home. Oh yes, did I mention the king-sized bed? And did I say that the back of the hotel opens onto the ocean? Wow! If this sounds like a fan letter, it is. We loved our week-long stay at this little pearl of a hotel.

Room Tip: Room #10 has an unencumbered view of the Grand Case beach.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
5.8 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $265 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing