We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the French Side of St Maarten”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Horseheads, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem on the French Side of St Maarten”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Le Petit Hotel, St. Maarten

The Le Petit Hotel is a grand small hotel with great service. The rooms are spacious and appointed with taste, kitchenette, balcony on the beach, and a fantastic view. The staff is superb with knowledge of the island.

It is located on the French side near the Grand Case and is walking distance to the lolo restaurants (in French it means shacks) that serve great grilled dinners. Night after night you can visit different ones and have pork, chicken, or sea food. Bring dollars or euros - cash is the same to them. If you are lucky you might even stumble upon the old derelict Morgan (car) along the walk to the lolo area. The Friars Beach is a must.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMac0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
427
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Well, we stayed there because of the TA reviews. We were not disappointed. This small 10 room hotel is in the Grand Case (French side) on the beach. JonLouise and Ellettra were very helpful and made us feel at home. We had a 2nd floor room #4 which was great, however it had a big palm tree in the middle of the view. Ask for room 5,6 or 7, second floor. Any room is good, but these are the best. The beach is small because the tides come up to the bldg. If you want a great beach go to Mullet Bay. The french resturant row is a short drive (2 mins), NOT WALK!!! , and if you walk down the beach you will certainly get wet and tired. Trust me on this.
Anyone who comes to the island and doesn't rent a car is crazy. This little hotel is great and I will come back here anytime. Brovo little guy!!!

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMJETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

5 days a Le Petit. Clean rooms, fine linens, great simple breakfasts, snorkeling gear, simple kitchen, the sound of the waves and a great view of Grand Case. Easy 10-15 min walk into dinner on Grand Case (we walked on the beach). This is not a resort but as a home base for exploring the islands many beaches (particularly on the french side) it was terrific. A great spot to come home to in the afternoon for drinks on the balcony before finding the restaurant of the evening. Great for couples.

Room Tip: Room 6 second floor has best balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGbearRoadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife (fiancee at the time) went down here and spent time on both the French and the Dutch side. We were staying at another hotel on the Dutch side later in the week because of a company trip, so we came down to St. Maarten a little earlier. We scoured TA, and narrowed it down to a couple. I'm very happy we choose Le Petit because the hotel was spectacular. We had a 2nd floor room, and had great views of the water. The fresh breakfast every day did not get old. The rocks in the water weren't the best, but you can walk down the beach to get a better layout...

We did the zipline tour which was incredible, Birdman was awesome. Make sure you go to see the war monument on the hill. Great views of the French side from high up there. The downtown market was great. The ethnic food down there was not disappointing at all.

Very relaxing, yet eventful trip...

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Halishak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed a week at Le Petit. It was wonderful! Nice beach, lovely room with a great view, great service, great breakfast pastries and fresh juice (yummy!) and close to many restaurants. we look forward to visiting again.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

A very quite location. The beach has several big rocks under the water so be careful. The beach is better if you walk down a little farther.

The rooms are not huge but very nice a have a great balcony. The kitchen comes in very handy for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaglebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Le Petit for 7 nights. It is only 10 rooms. It is close to the street and just on the outskirts of restaurant row in Grand Case

We were on a second floor room for 4 nights and moved to the deluxe studio for 3. The Deluxe studio is about 4 feet wider than the second floor room. The deluxe studio has direct beach access and the patio is bigger.

Being so close to the road I was worried about noise. Don’t be. The only thing we heard was the sound of the waves
.
The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained.

Jean- Francoise is the manager. He is very friendly and extremely helpful.

The beach at the hotel is narrow but very nice. I also recommend taking the beach at night to get to the restaurants. It’s about 150 yards, then pop out by the Rainbow Café or at Love.
We really liked Piazza Pascal, la Villa, le Ti Provençale and Spicey. Most offered 1 for 1 dollar for Euro if you paid cash. Dinners for 2 ran $100-$150. Check out the Lolo’s, 2 for lunch with drinks for under $25.

We would definitely stay here again. Make sure you visit the sister hotel, La Esplanade. It’s on the hill at the opposite side of Grand Case. It’s bigger and very beautiful with a great pool and views of the island.

Penil Island is worth the trip but if you have the lobster and rent chairs plan to spend $200 for the day. The water taxi didn’t start running until 10 am and I felt like I was on a refugee boat. But it’s only a 7 minute ride. Friars Bay is a nice small beach. Orient Bay is worth visiting once. It’s quite the show.

If you’re a diver use Octopus Diving. They run a great operation with excellent boats and have friendly and extremely knowledgeable divematsers and instructors.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank johntoppans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
293 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,113 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing