We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food and Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pressoir

Le Pressoir
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $76
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Pressoir.... Simply a must!!! Some words to describe this incredible restaurant: - a positive energy - A chef owner, very demanding on the quality and freshness of products - Family busisness with complicity and passion - Loyal, welcoming and professional staff - Sophisticated gastronomy with exceptional products Here Seaview is on the plate
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a tiring day of traveling, we decided to treat ourselves to dinner at le Pressoir. With no reservation, we were quickly seated on the porch. At least 4 people attended to our every need, from drinks, which were quickly brought, to reviewing the specials and telling us their favorites. After ordering a Jameson on the drinks and a Campari on the rocks to start, we were pleased to find nice full pours. We debated heavily about the escargot appetizer, but settled on the wahoo tartar special since it was caught that day. It was nicely studded with fresh mango and a very nice portion for 16E. There was a lemon sauce on the side that was great on its own with the bread but overpowering for the fish (the only complaint). For entrees, we had the lamb tenderloin special and added the seared foie gras for 7E, making the sauce infused with foie gras as well. The other entre was the veal trilogy (trilogies seem to be popular in St. Martin), which consisted of veal tartar, veel cheeks and veal loin. Having eaten at some of the best restaurants in the world, I can say that the tartar was one of the best things I've ever had the pleasure of tasting. The accompaniments were delicious and different for each dish. And we were pleasantly full without needing dessert. For 123E with drinks, it wasn't outrageously expensive either. A definite must and worth all the hype.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theworldaw8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    124
    40
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favorite French restaurant on SXM.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been going to SXM for 20 years, it's our winter escape and we would call it our second home. We have traveled all over the island. Our trips have narrowed as we want to frequent our favorites - Mario's Bistro, IZZi, Spiga, while in SXM. We have been going to Le Pressoir since Melanie and Franck opened the spot about 8 years ago. Franck as chef has brought Nouveau French cooking to the island; all favorites but with less butter. The taste and flavor are there for the escargots, frog legs. I had the veal trilogy which was excellent, although I didnt care for the trotter. My wife had the grilled mahi special. We each had dessert. I had the house chocolate special and my wife had the profiteroles. Both were excellent. So if you like French cuisine and find yourself in SXM try Le Pressoir. Pricey yes, but worth the dollar to euro difference!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sophias-nonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delightful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Over the past 10 years we have been to many restaurants in Grand Case and this is very good. Prompt service, great wine list (some at over $15,000 a bottle!) and the four fish courses were excellent along with the steaks. There were two items of disappointment; the French Onion Soup was tasteless and we were told that it was due to being made with vegetable broth. The second was that they did not offer a one for one exchange for the Euro as most good restaurants do. For the money, there are several restaurants that can top this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great French Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My first visit to this Restaurant and OMG ! Situated in a small cottage, friendly informative staff. GREAT FOOD ! Dine in or dine out on the front porch. This in Grand Case the gastronomic Capital of the Caribbean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artist67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been written? This is far and away the best restaurant on the island - easily comparable to French Laundry in Napa, Citronelle in DC and Le Bernardin in NYC. The food was exquisitely prepared (shaving the truffle at the table was a nice touch), the staff was attentive and the drop-dead gorgeous Melanie made me feel like a welcomed guest. Dining alone, I especially appreciated the half-bottle wine selections. Of course it's expensive, but if you're looking for a incredible dining experience, it's well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damon55435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pressoir also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Pressoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing