We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant in Grand Case” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pressoir

Le Pressoir
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $76
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Pressoir.... Simply a must!!! Some words to describe this incredible restaurant: - a positive energy - A chef owner, very demanding on the quality and freshness of products - Family busisness with complicity and passion - Loyal, welcoming and professional staff - Sophisticated gastronomy with exceptional products Here Seaview is on the plate
Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Grand Case”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to go in Grand Case for superb French dining. Have been eating here for years and food and service have never let us down. Wonderful filet and the Dover sole was prepared with perfection. Another plus, there is a free parking lot right across the street.

Helpful?
Thank Rich5ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    124
    40
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Five Star Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a wonderful culinary experience. The presentation is beautiful, the service excellent and the food out of this world. I suggest making a reservation as this spot is very popular, and reserve the balcony.
I had the 3 little soup sampler and each was better than the other. My main dish was langoutes which were fabulous. It was a treat and a surprise to eat this well on this rather simple, rundown street. There are lots of restaurants ont he main street but this one is special. Do try it.
While you are in Grand Case, you can have fun looking at the many bouriques.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Booky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Melanie is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been coming to SXM for years and Le Pressoir is the one place I always have to come back to. I went to culinary school and I can't believe the taste of Franck's food. People may say it is expensive, but it is worth it. One gets what they pay for, and this place could charge double and it would still be worth it. Another addded nice touch was that Melanie presented my wife with a beautiful dessert for her Birthday. (It also does not hurt that she is a beautiful lady!) If you had to pick a place to eat in Grand Case, this HAS to be it. Alan Concha

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aconcha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“At home with Melanie and Franck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Le Pressoir remains one of our all-time favorite restaurants in St. Martin. When you're here, you feel like you're in Melanie and Franck's dining room, from the attentive and personal service to the simple little touches to the emphasis on proper service. More than once, Melanie has said to us "Don't pour your own water, you are our guests, you should relax." Relax after dinner; come prepared to eat well.

Pressoir's caesar salad may be the best on the island; perhaps that doesn't seem like much of a compliment for this appetizer staple of nearly every French side establishment, but that's characteristic of the quality and thought that goes into the menu. The dressing is infused the right blend of mustard and lemon, it's not too heavy or oily, and there are large anchovies completing the presentation. It's a good sized, well-dressed and happy salad. It's a sign of things to come. My wife and daughter are equally enamored of the escargots.

Every fish main course I've had has been wonderful - again, good flavor, excellent preparation, and beautiful presentation.

For dessert, you must have the special pear in a chocolate shell that is then covered in hot chocolate sauce. It's insanely good. It's hard to conceive of vamping for 300 words about a pear, but I could. To describe it merely detracts from the combination of fruit flesh, chocolate, crunch, and more chocolate. It's worth the trip. Not just from the Dutch side, but from, say, Newark Airport.

Because of the personal attention, and because Melanie makes it a point to visit every table, dinner here takes at least two hours. Be prepared, be relaxed, be treated like a guest in her home.

Finally, if you're an oenophile, Franck's wine cellar is one of the best and deepest on the French side.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowmanonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great dinner, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had dinner for the first time here recently. We've been to St. Martin since 1980 and have eaten at a lot of restaurants; cannot believe I hadn't been here before. My dinner started with a tasting of all 3 soups on the menu. What a great idea! I will say, the onion soup was a bit of a disappointment- not that it was bad, but just nothing spectacular. The other soups - the lobster bisque and the pea soup were excellent as were the crayfish sticks the soups were served with. The entrees were terrific, especially the fish. One of us got the sole and it was just like Dover sole but perhaps even better. Well worth the high price. The crusted Mahi Mahi was also great. And the service was exceptional. They were not really busy the night we were there and that might have helped. All in all, a very wonderful dinner and we will definitely go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pressoir also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Pressoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing