We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pressoir

Le Pressoir
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $76
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Pressoir.... Simply a must!!! Some words to describe this incredible restaurant: - a positive energy - A chef owner, very demanding on the quality and freshness of products - Family busisness with complicity and passion - Loyal, welcoming and professional staff - Sophisticated gastronomy with exceptional products Here Seaview is on the plate
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I can't imagine other restaurants being any better. Great service, great food. No beachfront view, but we chose this place in spite of that and are so glad we did. Do the same!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    126
    41
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Le Pressoir is one of the two absolute best meals we had in Grand Case (the other one being Le Ti Provencal). For the food-lover, it's puzzling why Bistrot Caraibes and Le Tastevin rank higher than Le Pressoir on tripadvisor -- they're not even in the same class.

Le Pressoir features wonderful, creative food (vanilla sauce on meat, delicious; fish sampler, wonderful), top-notch wine and service. It's upscale, but we wore our shorts and it was fine.
We wish we had time to go back for a second meal; and we heard several other tables rave about their food as well.

A note on tipping: In short, if you pay in USD, tip like you're in the US, in cash (at least 15%). Although St Martin requires a service charge be included in the bill (as in Europe), very few Grand Case restaurants actually include the charge -- and so the bill will not say "service included"; the waiting staff is paid US-style -- minimum wage complemented by tips in cash. If you pay in Euros, they will assume you're European, and will not expect a tip; bottom-line, the staff will accept being stiffed by Europeans. (It does not make it right, we think.) This is our conclusion after researching the topic rather thoroughly. If in doubt, ask.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telemark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good, french food. The chef came out of the kitchen to ask us if we liked the food.
Try the Creme Brulee!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rummelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top-notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This restaurant was a real treat. Charming decor, excellent food and service. We were 5, and sampled each other's food; everything was delicious. Mélanie, one of the owners and the chef's wife, walked to every table making sure that everyone was enjoying the experience. She and all the staff are charming and make you feel very welcome.
I highly recommend this restaurant, a rare blend of simplicity and sophistication.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob10065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great French food, wine, and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The foie gras tasting dish is simply phenomenal! This was the first real dinner that we had after arriving in Grand Case and --as avid cooks -- we couldn't stop talking about how perfectly the food was seasoned, cooked, and presented. Grand Case was rather quiet in May so we had a nice table out front on the street. The service was great, the wine was timely poured, and the dinner wasn't rushed. Definitely pricier than other options in GC, but the perfect traditionalish French dinner. This was my 2nd favorite after the more modern L'Estaminet, but you really can't go wrong with either. Try both!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pressoir also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Pressoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing