We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Estaminet - CLOSED

L'Estaminet
Price range: $40 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'ESTAMINET...A French ,innovative cuisine ,combining spices of the word and amazing flavors...And frienddly atmosphere.....
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Once again Carole and Ina showed us what fine dining means. The appetizer was generous enough for us to share and then some. The entrees were wonderful and the sides were amazing. Each has it's own little special flair. We have been coming here for about five years now and are always pleased. This time Carole went above and beyond and drove us back to our hotel in the pouring rain when we couldn't get a taxi. Thanks again for keeping us dry !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    55
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good but tries to hard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

On a street of great French dining, L'Estaminet tries to be creative and different. I asked our server (who was excellent) for recommendations and my husband and I each picked a recommendation. I had a scallop/foi gras combo that was good but not particularly memorable. My husband had a fish (perhaps monkfish, I don't recall exactly) with a sweet pepper risotto. Both entrees were good, but there are places that I loved more in Grand Case. Oh and for dessert - a trio of creme brûlée (chocolate, cinnamon and vanilla). Vanilla was good and traditional. The other two were unremarkable. But they were served to the table flaming....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow Service/Average Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a little concerned because there was only one other couple in the restaurant when we ate. The service was very slow. I ordered the veal special which was not very good. Everyone else thought their meal was average. Servers were nice and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brevard, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Carol greeted us warmly with lots of good information about the specials. We were very pleased with the presentation and quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mollybrevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A One of A Kind Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you are looking for something different and special, L'Estaminet is the place to go! My sister and I did not read the reviews on Trip Advisor before choosing this restaurant. We just happened to walk by the restaurant, read the menu board and immediately detected this restaurant had something special and different to offer. We were right! The food was more than delicious, it was outstanding. The entrée, a cream of parsnip soup served with a side salad infused with ginger was superb. The evening special, fish (sole) covered with nut served with a vanilla butter sauce was delightful. The vegetables (broccoli, cabbage and fennel) were individually seasoned and cooked to perfection. The dessert, (le moelleux) was heaven! The service was flawless! Luc was attentive, friendly and took the necessary time to explain each course. The atmosphere was pleasant. The wine list offers a very good selection of wines to accompany your meal. If you are looking for a one of a kind experience, you will enjoy L'Estaminet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing