We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice French Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Estaminet - CLOSED

L'Estaminet
Price range: $40 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: L'ESTAMINET...A French ,innovative cuisine ,combining spices of the word and amazing flavors...And frienddly atmosphere.....
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very nice French Restaurant”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I were at Orient Beach, talking to the couple next to us. They told us that they ate at the best French Restaurant on St. Martin the night before. It was called L'Estaminet and was in Grand Case. They raved about the creative genius of the two women who run the place. The next day, the manager at the Sol Hotel, where we were staying, asked us where we were going for dinner. We said "L'Estimanet". She knows both the Chef and the Manager, and she said that it is an excellent place to eat. So we went to L'Estaminet with high expectations, and our high expectations were fully met. We believe it is the best French Restaurant on the island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    55
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vibe & tasty food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friend and i went to L'Estaminet and it was great!!!
''Chic'' french restaurant
The food was simple and tasty
(not expensive)
The waiter could communicate in english which was refreshing!!!

And when you get out, you are surrounded by Clubs and Pubs.

Stronglly recommended!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sivanlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a company of 9 we had on 4th of january a perfect diner at l'Estaminet. Correct service with dishes well balanced in taste and appearance. Perfectly prepared and made with a lot of fantasy and attention. Especially dessert are well designed (daughter had dessert with cigar shaped cream form with a taste and smell of a cigar !), very creative. All at normal (european !) price level. Choise of wine wasn't very extensive yet large enough to have a choice with every dish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erjavec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food as art”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had two amazing dining experiences at L'Estaminet during our January 2013 stay on St. Martin. The ambience is lovely, as are the staff and service. The food is nothing short of amazing, the plates burst with flavor and are so beautiful in presentation that it is hard to take that first bite and ruin the tableau. A must for Grand Case!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of the lot”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been to St. Martin a couple of times (most recently from the 8th through the 15th of January) and have dined at a dozen or so places in Grand Case and this is our first choice by some measure. It was so good, that after our first night we asked for reservations the second night, canceling at another place down the road and across the street. The food was fresh, the tastes creative, the portions satisfying and the service exemplary. The steak with goat cheese and truffles was perfect both nights; the pigeon two ways was to die for--it took some courage to order--never had pigeon before-- but was rich and delicious (we pass things around); one child (actually 19) thought her pork with honey and truffles was the best, while another argued for her sea bass and medley of steamed fish in asian spices, while I fought for the steak and my wife for the pigeon. Whenever everybody thinks theirs was the best, you know you are on solid footing. The salads, chocolate variation and creme brulee (sp?) were all perfection. The portions were satisfying, pace of the meal and service perfect and the hosts and hostesses delightful. They made recommendations when queried (including lower priced wines as we described what we liked) and did not disappoint. The service was friendly, attentive but never overbearing. This restaurant is not on the waterside, but when we return it will be first on our list. We strongly recommend that you try it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foresidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing