We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best italian in grand case”
Review of Spiga Restaurant

Spiga Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Spiga restaurant, now in it's 15th year, serves authentic, modern Italian cuisine with friendly and professional service. Discover a selection of Italian and French wines along with the freshest ingredients. Chose the intimate porch for al fresco dining or dine in air-conditioned comfort in 2 dining rooms. Large tables and groups welcome.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best italian in grand case”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Attentive staff and owner, nice atmosphere, (in case you must wait for a table on a busy night), so many delicious choices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    152
    50
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Italian”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was an excellent meal and the atmosphere was very elegant. The beef carpaccio was amazing. Although it is not directly on the water like many restaurants, the food was spectacular and more than made up for the missing "dine directly on the water" that many use to attract business.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizH_23927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Italian Food!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were shocked to find such an amazing Italian restaurant amongst so many French restaurants. Our dinner at Spiga was one of our favorites all week. We loved our entrees, and the atmosphere was comfortable and romantic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My wife loves spiga and I really like it.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is not your usual Italian food. You will really love this place. a nice open air eating experience. My wife is italian and loved the gnoocies (sp?) I really enjoyed the seafood and pasta. It is a great place as a break from all the Frech food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank robegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Food (French or otherwise) in Grand Case”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Sure Grand Case gets a lot of hype for their fine French cuisine, however I personally enjoyed this Italian restaurant. We traveled to St Marten during a down-season and chose to dine here on a Friday night. Given the great reviews, we thought to call ahead, however when we arrived we found that we were one of only 4 groups dining at the restaurant. The inside decor looked inviting with the polished wooden beams. It was a bit of a walk form the Grand Case parking area, but nothing unmanageable. It's just in a neighborhood and not waterfront so the only views to speak of are of the interior or your dining partners.

We got a great spot out on front porch with a gentle breeze flowing through. We opted for the mozzarella appetizer to start and the dish's freshness immediately caught me. The creaminess of the mozzarella was amazing and the olive oil enhanced the taste.

The main dish was the chicken breast in a sun-dried tomato sauce with some potato and asparagus on the side. It's not exactly the cliche italian dish, but that didn't really matter to me. The chicken was cooked to perfection, thoroughly yet not tough, and the simple seasoning tasted great. I did everything in my power not to lick the plate clean!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiga Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Spiga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing