We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, top quality, right at the beach”
Review of Bleu Emeraude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bleu Emeraude
Ranked #1 of 8 Grand Case B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, top quality, right at the beach”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Dont have a lot of words... A am still impressed by everything we experienced here, the unique view from your private terrace on the sea just a footstep away, the excellent and helpful, professional service from the owner, the little sweet breakfast, the high quality and clean property, the unique and probably best beach experienece so far.... Thank yoy guys! J & S.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    48
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
190
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you love simple, clean, sea, French breakfast, full kitchen, beach and peace, then this is your place. We are so delighted to have stumbled upon this gem!!
Tripadvisor requires more verbiage, however anymore would be redundant. Perfect is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at l'Esplanade in May and returned in October and stayed at Bleu. The main reason was that we wanted to be on the beach. Bleu was closer to town than L'Petite but not by much.
The residence was great. Maya checked us in and gave us a great tour of the place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom. The balcony and view of the beach and beyond is great. I am not sure if it was the time of the year or the proximity of the building but the sunset was better at L'esplanade. We walked down to LOVE to catch the sunset and it was spectacular.
The room is very contempory and comfortable. The bed is low to the floor. The kitchen is perfect. They have wine and beer available if you don't want to go out to the store. Breakfast is baguette and couisant. Juice and Coffee. Just right.
The beach out front is not crowded. The swimming is easy and you can take a nice walk. There were a couple of local dogs that want to be your friend but they were harmless.
If we return to SXM we may stay here again if we choose GrandCase.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddyD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Bleu Emeraude gets a 4 of 5 rating. It is a beautiful and modern, contemporary hotel decorated for those who like international contemporary flair. The rooms are kept very clean and the staff is friendly. The view of Grand Case beach and the sound of the surf outside your deck add to its charm. There are two improvements that would make this a 5 star accommodation. The bed is hard and the choice of the two pillows are both hard. The bedroom is street-side and if you have been to Grand Case, you know the street can be very busy. The bedroom needs white noise to drown out street sounds if you like to sleep later than the locals get up for work. The A/C in the bedroom has a separate control with a strong setting that does drown out some of the noise but it reverts to a low speed after about 15 minutes. We kept waking up to hit the "strong" button throughout the night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301. If you like to sleep late, consider a white noise generator or earplugs. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-n-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our stay was so amazing! We flew in on October 1st 2013 and stayed until October 8th. From the day we arrived to the day we left Fredrick & Maya did everything possible to enhance our experience. Definitely went above and beyond! My husband and I both work in elite concierge positions so we often times are astounded at the poor or mediocre service many places give. Maya & Fredrick really made it a GREAT experience!

Beyond the service the hotel was modern and very clean. I was very impressed with the fact that even high traffic areas were always free of sand, I mean it is right on the beach! Dishwasher & laundry in room was a huge luxury.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Bleu Emeraude (BE) for four nights in late summer (August 22-26, 2013) and would definitely recommend it. The property is located right on the beach (and right on the main road) as one approaches Grand Case from St. Maarten's Princess Juliana airport (the latter is located in the Southwest of the island).

It took us approximately 30 minutes' drive from the airport to reach the property -- or would have, if we hadn't missed BE the first time 'round (we eventually did find it, with help from a couple of locals whom we stopped to ask). In addition to beach access, BE is extremely well situated for: (i) restaurants (virtually all the best-reviewed restaurants on the island are in Grand case, within a ten minute walk of BE); (ii) shopping -- grocery and other stores nearby, with a larger supermarket (Auchan) about a ten-minute drive close to Grand Case airport; and (iii) visiting the pier/waterfront/fort in Marigot. (Be warned however that in walking to dinner, the street is badly lit and the sidewalk -- where it exists -- is extremely narrow.) We were lucky to find a parking spot on the premises at ground level each time we arrived (back) at BE, as it seemed quite full.

Our "room" (which at about US$215 per night including taxes was far from cheap, but we soon learned that nothing in St. Martin is) was a self-catering one-bedroom apartment on the middle floor of a three/floor building. It was very well-equipped with fridge, electric kettle, coffee-maker, toaster, cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery, small dishwasher, small automatic (clothes) washer, etc. The air conditioners (split unit in each of the living/dining room and bedroom) were in good working order and quiet. Furnishings are somewhat limited but in very good taste -- close to minimalist style in whites with the occasional splash of color. The bedroom had a reasonably comfortable queen-size bed, and the sofa in the living room opened in another (surprisingly comfortable) queen-size bed. There was a large, very pleasant veranda equipped with lounge chairs off the living/dining area looking out onto the beach/sea, the Creole Rock, and Anguilla.

Breakfast (included in our rate) was very nice, if limited and rather simple (very nice bread and pastries, together with tea, coffee, juice, butter, and jam). It was self-service, put out in the common area on the middle floor between approximately 8 and 10:30 am. One had to be a little quick, however -- our first morning there we rose somewhat late (just before 9 am) and found the pastries were gone with only French bread remaining.

We also found the little beach right at the property to be delightful, and opted to swim there each day in spite of having seen some of the more renowned beaches on the island. The beach is a fine sand one with only occasional large rocks, so the water is easy to access. BE provides lounge chairs and beach umbrellas, together with sand toys for kids and even a couple of masks and fins (in a very small size). There is also a fresh water shower for rinsing off.

Finally, I must emphasize that we found the staff -- Frederic in particular -- both courteous and helpful. He was always attentive and obliging, and enthusiastic about responding to our occasional queries.

Our very positive overall experience notwithstanding, we also noted a couple of downsides, although in fairness not all were within the management's control. First, from the moment we entered it, our room had a very distinct, strong smell, very likely from the cleaning solvent that is used to keep the attractive white tiles in the rooms clean. My partner has a particularly sensitive sense of smell, and she found it rather overwhelming (and difficult to get rid of, even after keeping the windows open for a long while). Second, other reviewers have commented on the traffic noise from the street, where every second vehicle -- even in the wee hours of the morning -- sounds like a motorbike with muffler removed. We did indeed find this rather tiresome (though manageable -- closing the screen in the bedroom, which faced onto the street, helped somewhat). In addition, on three of the days we stayed at BE, some hammering and drilling (in the neighboring property, nothing to do with BE) could be heard beginning around 7:30 am, and lasting an hour or more. Moreover, some of the people in the apartment right above us were clearly early risers, and we could distinctly make out clattering footsteps, chairs scraping, etc. And third, upon check-in it was brought to our attention that the automatic shutter screen on the large window in the bedroom (yes, the one looking out onto the street with the passing motorbikes) was out of order, and we were advised that the repair people would be in to fix it the next day. They did indeed arrive the next day in the afternoon, and we were told that they'd be done in 20 minutes. In the event, it was more like two hours and 20 minutes, but they did do a thorough job.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the middle floor, on the right-hand side of the building as one faces it from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Bleu Emeraude twice. The first time, we stayed in a 1 bedroom 2nd floor suite. It was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. As the living room section is on the water side we actually slept in the living room pull out sofa (it was very comfortable) rather than the bedroom in order to enjoy the waves and morning views. The rooms have huge balconies with comfy furniture to curl up and read a book when you have had too much sun. The second time we stayed in a studio suite on the main floor, really perfect for the two of us with all of the same amenities as the other suite. I loved that Bleu Emeraude is on a quieter part of the bay, yet close enough to get some exercise when walking to restaurants and shops. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
295 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,316 reviews
5.9 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
LTC Hotel partner Le temps des Cerises Jeans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleu Emeraude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleu Emeraude

Property: Bleu Emeraude
Address: 240 Bvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bleu Emeraude is a luxurious new residence on the Grand Case beach. Each apartment offers tranquility and an exceptional view of the Caribbean Sea and the island of Anguilla on the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, West Indies and Hotwire so you can book your Bleu Emeraude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleu Emeraude Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing