We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always amazing!”
Review of Octopus Diving

Octopus Diving
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Snorkeling trip 1:30 PM - Grand Case
More Info
$120.00*
and up
2 Tank Dive in Grand Case Saint Martin at 8:30 AM
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba dive and snorkel with Octopus Diving. We have the best boats, the best equipment and hand picked staff to make sure you have the best experience possible. Our friendly PADI dive center is located in the town of Grand Case on the gorgeous tropical island of St. Martin / Sint Maarten, the culinary capital of the Caribbean. Whether you're an experienced diver ready to take your diving to the next level with advanced courses or specialties, a certified diver looking to explore St. Martin's amazing reefs and wrecks, a first-timer interested in discovering the world of diving or an avid snorkeler - or even if you've never been in the water before - we've got something for you, and we'll make your underwater experience one to remember.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Octopus diving is by far the best dive shop we've ever gone out with! This was our 5th time diving with them, and we keep coming back because it just doesn't get better than them. Always safety first and the instructors are so friendly and helpful! The dive sites are spectacular and the aquatic life never disappoints. Chris and Sally have built a responsible and reliable business that's second to none. I trust them with my life. If you're looking for a place to dive or snorkel on St. Martin, I promise you'll have the experience of a lifetime with them! A special thank you to our wonderful divemasters/instructors, James, Lee, Dave, and JT who took excellent care of us and showed us a spectacular time! We'll never forget you all and the adventures we shared.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dCon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,350
    69
    13
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some of the best”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Friends and I just finished 3 days of morning dives with octopus diving. We had last dove with them 3 years ago, and I'm left with the same impression. This is a dive shop that is professional owned and operated. The owners (Sally and Chris) were great to work with. They also continue to improve their business with addition of their brand new purpose built dive boat Kracken.

We dove one day with Sally and JT and one day each with James and Lee. All of these staffers were ready to help with any issue and answer any question. If you didn't want to take advantage of their valet dive service they would leave you alone until asked for something. It was an absolute pleasure diving with JT, James and Lee. I would gladly dive with them again, and will refer any divers or potential new divers to the professional staff of Octopus Diving.

Helpful?
1 Thank k-mart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best dive shop on the island! Five star shop!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Whether you are a seasoned diver or a newbie, Sally, Chris and the staff at Octopus Diving make your experience one to remember. This was our second time diving with Octopus and as New Jersey divers we take care of our own gear, but this is a valet dive shop, you show up and they do the rest. James and Lee make diving magical (let's see if they remember this story about Ellis) and TJ is too cute for words. Regardless of where you stay, Dutch or French side, make Octopus Diving your place for scuba on St. Maarten/Martin. You won't regret it! Sally and crew, thank you for another terrific three days of diving!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebPressCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Diving with Octopus Diving was the highlight of our vacation. Our dive guides, Sally and Mike, were fantastic! I had never been scuba diving before and did an exploratory dive. They both went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable and have a fantastic first experience. My husband is scuba certified and has been on 12+ other dives prior to this. He said they were the best dive guides/company he had ever gone out with because of how personal it was. We HIGHLY recommend Octopus Diving! In fact, we've promised ourselves we will go back and dive with them again soon. Thanks Sally, Mike, and all of Octopus Diving!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KandaceHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family snorkeling - most time and great locations!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited St Maarten for a partial day on a cruise, and took our 11 and 7 year old out with Octopus for a half day snorkel adventure. We were joined by another family of four - from Germany - two if whom went for a two dive half day. The trip was fantastic, as we went to two reefs (Creole and a nearby reef) and had as much time to snorkel as is possible...more than most tours would be capable of. More importantly, the second reef was excellent and much less covered than Creole, and in our view was even better...more coral and fish, as well as turtles! The combination of snorkelers with a dive works really well and ensures ample time for everyone, and we loved the smaller head count than large tours! Mike and Sally both know their stuff and were just great!

Helpful?
Thank FriendsofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Diving also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Octopus Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing