We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cassoulet to die for.”

Restaurant le Soleil
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nice terrasse with a carribean see view, possibility to have lunch also on the beach. Friendly family ambiance.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cassoulet to die for.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was so good we returned twice on our 1 week vacation. It's a relatively small restaurant, with most tables on the exterior deck over the beach. The French chef from Alsace is a pastry chef who prepares the most delicious meals.

For appetizer, both times we had the seafood cassoulet which was incredible. The main courses were also excellent - one night I had Mahi Mahi in a pastry with vegetables - although I'm not a big fan of cooked vegetables I ate everything with enthusiasm, it was just that good.

As expected from a pastry chef, the deserts were incredible. The first time we shared a chocolate cake with warm chocolate on the inside. The second dinner we shared a profiterole desert. We had to resist from licking our plates. The service was very friendly and excellent. By far, our best meals of our week in Saint Martin - with no bad meals all week.

Despite being a small restaurant, you do not feel rush and indeed service is geared to one's pace of eating. On the nights we were there, there was only one waiter/maitre d'. The service is excellent and very friendly. He was fluent in French (naturally) and English.

If you only go to one restaurant in Grande Case, then it must be Le Soleil.

If parking is not immediately available in front of the restaurant, it's only a short 2-3 minute walk from the public parking lot.

The only negative is the opening hour of 6pm means that you cannot watch the sunset - in November it's dark before 6pm. But the beach is lit up and you do get to hear and sea the small waves hitting the shore.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zemour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    82
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant overlooking the ocean in Grand Case”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our fifth year visiting St.Maarten and our fifth year visiting Le Soleil. Consistently the food has been excellent, as has the service and the atmosphere.The owners are delightful and remember us ( who can forget the 2 lively octogenarians who accompany us?) from year to year. We generally share a number of dishes and we have never been disappointed.If you go , do not miss the after dinner coffee drinks!We are already looking forward to next year's visit!r

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I made the drive from Simson Bay for a nice dinner on our honeymoon and le Soleil was perfect. Julian and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Comfortably elegant oceanfront setting. We shared the lobster risotto and scallop special followed by a tray of pastries and coffee. Everything was fantastic. I can't say enough good things and we can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous restaurant and staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We just had dinner here and loved it. The lobster risotto was excellent as was my husband's seafood curry dish. After our wonderful meal, we went outside to find that our car was dead. we assumed it was the battery and went inside for help. The staff bent over backwards to help us. It truly was heart warming We would eat there again and again. We loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best casual ocean front restaurant in Grand Case”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We love this friendly husband-wife restaurant with great ocean views. We went twice during our short stay. The husband Stefan cooks up some great food. My wife loves his Tarte Flambee (Alsacian specialty) that she orders every time. I asked for a simple green salad (off menu) each time that they had no problem providing and it was good. For a main dish on the first visit I chose the red snapper special and the second visit I chose the entrecôte - both were really good. What we also really like is the loving service of Mimi (the wife) - it is almost like going to have dinner at a friends house. Friendly prices. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cees129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant le Soleil also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Restaurant le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing