We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convivial”
Review of Il Nettuno

Il Nettuno
Ranked #35 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convivial”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

There is a bright and happy flair to Il Nettuno that surrounds you on entry. It is spacious and colorful, vibrant and uplifting. The airiness offers a beautiful view of the bay area of Grand Case as well. All this before you even reach your table.
Even seated, the conviviality continued with exuberant and helpful waiters and delightfully presented dishes.
The menu is weighted in order toward seafood dishes, followed by pastas, and a more compact selection of meat dishes, enabling the restaurant to offer superb treats for taste, smell, vision and spirit.
It was a bit pricey and didn't offer a fixed price option, but is worth the slight bit extra for "entertainment."

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GettinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    95
    46
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hadn't visited this eating establishment for two years when we thoroughly enjoyed the Italian meals Very good service, food and atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 821eren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We are in St. Maarten every year for the whole month of March. This used to be our favorite restaurant. When we went this year, we were very disappointed! New owners, no more Raymond to meet us at the door and welcome us, no more Matteo to sing to us during dinner. Completely different menu and the food was not up to the standards of our previous visits. Will not be back here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vnyrdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Generous italian with a view”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

El Nettuno has a great location with most tables having an unobstructed view of the bay of Grand Case. The night we were there, we could admire several sailboats and yachts anchored nearby. The menu is nice, and among other things they serve home-made pasta. They also have risotto if you're in the mood for that.

I had octopus-ink capellachis, which were stuffed with potatoes (it's actually nicer than it sounds) and served with seared scallops. The portions are very generous. This dish was more than enough for my appetite, but I had had the toscan delicatessen plate before, which was also meal-sized as far as I'm concerned, so i struggled to finish the pasta even as good as it was. My wife had a Caesar salad and the lobster strachis, my son the fried eggplants and the classic spaghetti with meatballs. Since we had chosen to go for the fixed price formula, we were also entitled to a dessert! We somehow managed to eat it all and we asked to be rolled back to our hotel...

We had a classic Chianti with that, nothing outstanding, just OK.

Service was nice and efficient.

If you're in Grand Case, you're very hungry and you feel like eating good italian food, head for El Nettuno and ask for the fixed price formula. You will enjoy it. Mind you, if you're not that hungry, you can go too, just be reasonable when you order!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mon_onc_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected and Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent the day in St. Marten while on a cruise and were not sure what to expect when we stumbled upon this quaint restaurant. Late in the afternoon we had the whole place to ourselves; the service was simple and quiet, but the view and the food was fabulous. My husband and I love mozarella salad, have had it in several different cities/restaurants throughout the world, and their version ranks at the top. Absolutely delicious. Watching the school-children joyfully playing on the beach as we finished our meal was the perfect end to a perfect lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexisgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Nettuno also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Il Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing