We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best day at the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Cafe

Rainbow Cafe
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
179 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Our best day at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food and service for the price cannot be beat here. While some of the other restaurants on the Grand Case Beach offered their lounge chairs to restaurant guests, this was the most reasonable. They really make you feel welcome,dusting the sand off your chairs every hour or so and generally very service-oriented.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThankxgivingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    175
    57
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had breakfast here, sat right beside the beach - it was a lovely, relaxed start to the day. Service was good and the staff friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What could possibly be better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lunch or dinner you look out on the ocean with the waves lapping at the beach. Ah the beach. Well it's right there. Eat on the beach, above the beach or in the restaurant. Stick to local catches and you will have a very special experience. Try the Mahi Mahi burger, even as an entree, superb. Now add Vicent and Douglas; up front or behind the bar they will make you feel special - and mean it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
“Wonderful restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful meal and enjoyed ourselves VERY much. Doug the manager went above and beyond, he actually helped us with our car problem. How is that for extraordinary service. It was a romantic setting and you could enjoy fine dining while sitting right on the beach. I would return here and highly recommend this restaurant. The food was fabulous and the staff was friendly. I did not sit inside but it had a nice ambiance. I preferred to sit outside and enjoy the experience of the beach at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Frozen Beverages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I would stop here every night on the way back to our hotel... They served the best frozen beverages, had great live music and a very friendly staff... Sitting by the ocean, with toes in the sand, was always the perfect ending to a great evening.

We also ate lunch and dinner (love the Rainbow Burger) there a couple of times - and everything was always fresh and delicious. Bring cash -- American dollar was accepted 1 to 1 for Euros.. Which definitely was a good deal at the time (not sure how the exchange rate is when you're reading this.) I wish we could bring the Rainbow Cafe to my hometown :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Cafe also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Rainbow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing