We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view with our toes in the sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calmos Cafe

Calmos Cafe
Ranked #17 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with our toes in the sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful little place that you would not appreciate fully appreciate from the street. The food was great and the staff was very friendly. Well worth the visit. We are going to make the 30 minute drive back since we liked it so much. Please don't pass this place up if you come to St. Maarten...........

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ERMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    537
    109
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Such a great little restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the only place we visited on the French side of the island, but we're so glad we made it up there. It doesn't look like much from the street, but once inside, this place is great. Not too expensive, but really delicious food and the staff are clearly happy to be working and are very friendly. Note that this place does get REALLY packed, even during the week - we were only able to get reservations through a strange connection we made earlier in the day.

The food, service, atmosphere, all really makes it worth the trouble though. When we visited there was great live Cuban music and dancing - not your typical boring live music that a lot of places on the island have.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, good prices for Grand Case”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to Calmos Cafe for dinner on a Thursday night. The place was packed when we arrived, but one of the waiters managed to snag our party of 6 a table on the small dock that sits out over the water. It was a perfect place to sit and enjoy dinner - we could still hear the music (which was really good), and yet it was not so loud that we couldn't hear each other talk. People were dancing on the beach near our table, which added additional entertainment.

The food here was fine, and we enjoyed our meal. But, the reason to come here is for the location and the ambiance. It was a really fun restaurant to spend the evening at. We never felt rushed to finish our meal, even though the place was packed. The service was a little on the slow side, but that could have been because the waiters had to weave between all the people to get from the tables to the kitchen and bar.

We had burgers, ribs, fish and several appetizers - the fish was fresh, but a bit tasteless (it could have used more seasonings), the burgers and ribs were fine - no complaints!

The prices were great, for Grand Case, which is known for its very expensive, gourmet type eateries. We were happy to find a restaurant on the water, with moderate prices. For the 6 of us, we spent about $250 US - which included at least 2 rounds of drinks, appetizers and entrees for 5 of 6 of us. Not a bad price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastNewbie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feet in the sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Love this casual place for ultimate beachy experience. Get ribs and drink " sex on the beach" as you watch lights on the bay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great drinks and snacks on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

A great place for a pre-dinner drink, or a casual meal on the beach. The servers are always in good sprits. It doesn't look like much from the front; however, once you walk in you will see why it is an island favorite.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheJoshManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calmos Cafe also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Calmos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing