We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as a bar but not as a restaurant. Except for the location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calmos Cafe

Calmos Cafe
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good as a bar but not as a restaurant. Except for the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Bad food quality, very "Americanized" (everything is sweet!), served in plastic plates and cups, service very casual.
I once had a potato "gratin" that was obviously made with a rotten ingredient... I advised the waiter who merely answered : "we had no complain about it"!
Good bar though especially on Thursday nights!
And WATCH YOUR BILL !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaVoileuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    526
    107
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seaside restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We didn't eat here, it was too freaking hot! There was no wind circulation, so we passed. It's right on the beach and umbrellas for sun seekers. We can't rate the food, but we have heard many good things about it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunset by the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to Calmos Cafe for years now, and although you can find better food elsewhere, their drinks are excellent, and the location, literally on the beach at Grand Case, is the stuff dreams are made of. Imagine a Painkiller in your hand, watching the sun set, and the lights come on in Anquilla, only a few miles away. Heavenly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Drinks with your feet in the Sand!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

all of the tables are set up on the beach. The food is good even though the lighting at night is not very good. Great staff and wonderful Pina Coladas!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Saved us from starving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Not really, we would have survived. Our flights were delayed somewhat so we got in around 10pm our first night. Almost everything was closed but Calmos was still opened. The chef thought he was done for the night but we asked for something to eat and he made us some tapas. Delicious goat cheese mousse, tapande, jalapeño poppers, and some other meats. All that plus the rum punch were a perfect anecdote to a long day of traveling.

We returned to Calmos twice more for lunch. Each time our meals were well executed. The place itself is very laid back. Sit in the open air but covered bar area or on the beach. Swim while you wait for your food. It's a perfect beach bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calmos Cafe also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Calmos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing