We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach cafe with live music too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calmos Cafe

Calmos Cafe
Ranked #17 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beach cafe with live music too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Calmos was recommended to us by 2-3 separate St Martin 'regulars', and I can see why! The beach location is great (with a bonus of being by the car park too), the food is great (try the satay shrimp), the prices good (for Grand Case), and the service is very friendly and personal. And there are free live music nights too: salsa, jazz, etc - but you have to book in advance of course.

We visited twice and will go again next time we go to SXM.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markmathsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    526
    107
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice café on Grand Case beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice atmosphere on the beach, good food. Go there at sunset and enjoy the sun going down with a nice drink in your hands. Good food. All in all good value. Will go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagmanSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wondeful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

As it is a very unique restaurant set up, an Argentinian couple that we had met at our hotel suggested that we go there, specially on a Sunday nigh to listen to fine live sweet jazz.. Wow, could not say better...

Great welcoming. We had a table right on the sand even though we did not have reservation. During our stay we are asked to be joined by another tourist couple. Turned out to be very pleasant.

Great service, Waiter very friendly Indonesian preparation beef and and tuna steak were 100%.

We will certainly return next time we visit St-Martin.... C'est la vie!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allodede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relax and romance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great place on the beach with live music and tapas with nice wine or cocktails! Our favorite must not miss place to go!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tapas at Calmos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We own a beachfront residence in Simpson Bay, St.Maarten (Dutch Side) and spend about 4-6 months on the island each year. When we have visitors from from the U.S. or Canada we often take them to Calmos Cafe. Calmos Cafe is located across the street from the large paved parking lot in Grande Case.The parking is free in this lot. Calmos is one of our favorite island spots. It does not appear from the Grande Case road that there is actually a bar/restaurant behind the C'est La Vie Boutique. You navigate the narrow path towards the water the between buildings. Then the quaint bar & restaurant appears. This is a great place for casual dining although slightly pricey. The U.S dollar to the Euro currency exchange increases the cost. Although some establishments on the French side of the island will do a one U.S. dollar for one Euro exchange, using cash, Calmos does not participate in this practice. It is a fun place directly on the beach. Some tables and picnic tables are right on the sand while others are in a covered area for protection from the infrequent light rain showers or the hot sun. Calmos is staffed by friendly, outgoing, fun loving, young, bi-lingual Frenchmen. Our service there has always been very good. We like the chicken or shrimpTapas. The peanut sauce is excellent. We find Calmos to be a great place on the sand for a snack, a cold beer, a mixed drink, people watching, and viewing the beautiful turquoise water.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calmos Cafe also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Calmos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing