We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, even better food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Auberge Gourmande

L'Auberge Gourmande
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Great service, even better food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I wanted my last dining experience in St. Martin to be my best for the trip, so I did my research and decided on L'Auberge Gourmande. I was able to get seated without a reservation, as I was traveling solo and it was off season, but I would definitely recommend making reservations during the high season or if you have a large party. The service was excellent, and as stated, they had the complimentary glass of champagne along with the finishing shot of rum at the end of the meal. I ordered the special of the day, which was hands down, one of the best meals I've eaten. It's one of those meals that you'll remember and savor down the years.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    171
    59
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“BEST MEAL/AMBIANCE of entire trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We have made the pilgrimage to this quaint and amazing restaurant on each of our visits to St. Maarten. It's now become our final hurrah on the island... our last treat before re-entering the real world. Waitstaff is friendly and they make the best recommendations. Food is beyond phenomenal. This year, had an appetizer of shrimp and scallops in puff pastry atop lobster bisque...words can't describe! Entree was 1.5 of the largest lobsters I'd ever had grilled/soaked in garlic and herb butter...awesome! Even the sorbet tastes better here! You must find this restaurant. Worth every euro to dollar exchange!

Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An annual ritual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We come here every year for our anniversary. This year, we had escargot, scallops, shrimp in puff pastry with a lobster bisque. My i husband had the lab, which was extraordinary. I had the shrimp and monkfish wish was outstanding. It was our anniversary and the staff brought us a nice cream sundae. We look forward to its meal every year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing & romantic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I visited L'Auberge while in Grand Case and the food was delicious! We were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne when we arrived. We ordered an appetizer, 2 entrees, a glass of wine and dessert. Everything was delicious! At the end of our meal we were able to sample some banana rum which was excellent. The restaurant is very clean and elegant-looking. Our meal was served on hand-painted china. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip, and we would eat here again for sure! Since it is on the French side the prices are in Euros, but we had no trouble paying in US dollars for our meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicanlovers
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always Lovely and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have dined at L'Augerge Gourmande on a few occasions during our past visits to St. Martin. The location is lovely…we love Grand Case! The staff is always friendly and helpful and the food is some of the best on the island. We look forward to visiting again on our next trip to St. Martin!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Gourmande also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Auberge Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing