We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dover Sole to die for”

L'Auberge Gourmande
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dover Sole to die for”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Split a Caeser for starters. The dressing was absolutely made from scratch. It was delicious. We all had the Dover Sole with Almond butter and Daphne potatoes.The sole was perfectly served with the bones removed and pan grilled to perfection. The service was impeccable. We topped it off with a great bottle of Rose. All in all it was a most memorable evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    174
    62
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service in parity with Outstanding French Caribbean Fare”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Dined at several of the well known restaurants on St. Martin (La Samanna's Trellis, La Villa, etc.) and L'Auberge Gourmande is by far, THE BEST! Pascal sat us promptly at the outside table that we requested and offered my wife and I champagne. We ungraciously declined the offer because we are rude Americans, Sorry Pascal!! (We were so hungry!) Our sacrilegious behavior did not take away from the professional service and upscale dinning etiquette we received. The food was excellent, especially the Sea Bass. The staff were very attentive and again, would like to commend the outstanding service. We were very impressed and appreciative. Classy place for anyone to enjoy more than once on St. Martin. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Top 10”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I would say I am a true foodie and have eaten in some of the finest restaurants around the globe. This meal ranks up there in my top 10. The Chilean sea bass was the best I had and just as good the next day as leftovers. Foie Gras was delish and a hugh portion. The owner was so hospitable and gracious. Even gave me a bottle of rum on the way out because I joked I loved the banana and vanilla touch in the apertif they gave us.

If on the island don't miss this.
Michelle
New york

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spectacular. You can just stop reading now and go.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

There is a 100 word minimum on this review :) so here goes.

Amazing food.
Great atmosphere.
Wonderful service.

It's in a little house that's just perfect.
It does not face the water in Grand Case, but it's worth every penny and every byte.

Expect to spend at least 100$ for dinner with out drinking. It's average for the prices on the French side of the island.

Just. GO.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denvertraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“c'est magnifique! Perfect meal and setting!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We wanted to visit a traditional French restaurant on the French side of St. Martin. L'Auberge Gourmande was absolutely perfect! A quaint, romantic, intimate restaurant with 4-star service. Our meal was amazing and well presented. I had pork tenderloin stuffed with apricots and pecans with a wonderful port glaze. My husband had rack of lamb and it was divine! Our dessert was a lemon tart served with homemade mango sorbet. Perfect end to a perfect evening! Reservations are highly recommended due to limited seating. We will definitely dine here on a return trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyattsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Gourmande also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Auberge Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing