We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Amongst the best of the best"”

L'Auberge Gourmande
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Amongst the best of the best"”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On a street of great restaurants, L'Auberge Gourmande more than holds its own. The experience starts with a unique, country French influence which does not feel forced. Pascal is a warm, welcoming host and then the wonderful food begins. The quality of the cooking is superb and not over-sauced or fussy; instead the dishes are beautifully prepared and presented. And the wine list is complete and offers interesting selections at all price points. We spend a couple of weeks in Grand Case each year and this is one of our "can't miss" stops.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,343
    174
    62
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Four of us went for dinner, and meals were delicious. Good service.

Mushroom sauce for the my veal chops was great. Dover sole was great and same with baked Alaska. Lobster bisque captured the essence of lobster very well.

Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lpan000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Dinner!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Hats off to Pascal and his restaurant staff for a job well done on a fantastic meal! We are still in Grand Case and felt compelled to write this now. Even though we love experiencing new restaurants, we're thinking about going here again later this week instead of trying another restaurant on Grand Case Blvd.

My wife and I are celebrating our fourth wedding anniversary, and we wanted to have a special dinner. We asked our hotel which restaurant they recommended and L'auberge Gourmanande was it. We did not have a reservation and did not have to wait, despite the restaurant being 3/4 full.

When we were seated we were immediately offered a glass of champagne which is complementary to everyone as you look over the menu.

My wife ordered the French onion soup, and filet mignon with au gratin potatoes and red wine shallot sauce. I had escargot and pork filet stuffed with gruyere mushrooms and apples.

We finished it off with banana and chocolate spring rolls with ice cream and whipped cream. We also had grappa and cappuccino after dinner.

As we were paying the bill, we were given a shot of their homemade banana rum which was also excellent!

The bottom line is the food was divine and the service was top notch. I'm from New Orleans and know good food, and the meal we were served tonight tops my favorite restaurants in the Big Easy. Simply put it was unforgettable.

If you make it to Grand Case, you must try it.

Helpful?
Thank Beachguy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The portions were huge, the staff friendly but the food hadn't moved with the times and was really inappropriate for the climate in my view. It reminded me of the rural French cooking of the 1980s. A little too much of everything and the chef was trying too hard to impress with a little timbale of this, a purée of that and a stuffed something or other accompanying what seemed already close to a half carcase of meat... Some guests managed to get through it all, and even have dessert, but we couldn't face a return visit, sorry. Disappointing for us, but if you like to feed your face this is definitely the place to go. And there were a lot of very happy people there, so I'm not prepared to judge other than to say it was not for us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank iirlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We ate outside and it was great to people watch. I got the most delicious salad ever (because we had eaten so much all week) and it was so good. Eat here!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank annclaireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Gourmande also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Auberge Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing