We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

L'Auberge Gourmande
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The portions were huge, the staff friendly but the food hadn't moved with the times and was really inappropriate for the climate in my view. It reminded me of the rural French cooking of the 1980s. A little too much of everything and the chef was trying too hard to impress with a little timbale of this, a purée of that and a stuffed something or other accompanying what seemed already close to a half carcase of meat... Some guests managed to get through it all, and even have dessert, but we couldn't face a return visit, sorry. Disappointing for us, but if you like to feed your face this is definitely the place to go. And there were a lot of very happy people there, so I'm not prepared to judge other than to say it was not for us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank iirlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,314
    172
    61
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We ate outside and it was great to people watch. I got the most delicious salad ever (because we had eaten so much all week) and it was so good. Eat here!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank annclaireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

L'Auberge is overpriced for the quality of the meals it serves. The tuna and beef were both of mediocre quality and over cooked for the cost, could have been better. It will be a long time before we go back,many more choices available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 821eren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“ Favorite French in Grand Case”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We always eat here when staying in Grand Case. It has steadily stayed our favorite restaurant on the French side.Although it does not have the ambience as the restaurants on the water side, it definitely serves the best food. The owner always remembers us and greets us with a glass of champagne .The waiter and waitress's recommend the right wine and serve with class. We started with these appetizer's ,duck liver for my husband and frog legs for me. We loved these choices. Then I had a pasty pie filled with mushroom, shallots & shrimps in a divine cream base.It had lobster bisque all around to use as a dipping sauce. This was super yummy. My husband's main dish was roasted tuna that was very tasty.We shared creme brûlée for dessert. They gave us a passport that included L'Auberge, Bristot Caraibes, & Ocean 82. When you eat at all 3 restaurants, they stamp your passport to receive a free bottle of their homemade rum . You know
we are always looking for a free gift. What better way than dining gourmet .Go tonight.

Helpful?
Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Great Meal in Grand Case”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife grew up in France and found the food at L'Auberge Gourmande quite comparable to what one might find at a great restaurant over there. The service was attentive and friendly, and the food was also very good. We both had the Salade de Chevre Chaud, for example, which was delicious.

We were also welcomed with a glass of champagne.

Merci! We will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crescidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Gourmande also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Auberge Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing