We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than most resort casinos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Casino

Hollywood Casino
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Simpson Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than most resort casinos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Smaller than a "real" casino, but larger than others within Caribbean resorts. The dealers were friendly and drink service was timely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DealLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    95
    98
    25
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
247 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The casino is old and dark. The poker machines are very, very tight I think because of the few people who go there. Then again, it's probably because the machines are tight. However, the bar tender, Anna, is a doll. We have known her for at least 5 years. She always makes us our special drink.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lemonaid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's a small casino with plenty of slots and tables. It's never terribly crowded. The staff is nice, and bathrooms are clean.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amdqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Okay --like most Casinos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This Casino opens at 1300 which we were not expecting. We thought it would be open earlier. The casino was about what you would expect. If you like video poker or the slots, you may want to get some directions as some of the machines do not work and record like the machines do in Lasw Vegas. All in all it was a good afternoon at the casino--and not crowded.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
359 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Average Casino - Limited Slot Choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were staying really close to the Hollywood Casino so it made for a easy walk up the hill to donate... I mean gamble... some money. We won a little here and there, but mostly we lost. Not that winning has to do with the overall raiting, but if we won a lot it would have helped!

They have a limited selection of slots and other games. It was clean and didn't smell like smoke. Some of the staff were great and others no so much. It was a great way to kill some time when we didn't feel like exploring the island. The rewards card offered a good cash back value compared to others.

If you are using the reviews on TripAdvisor to select a casino to go to on SXM I would skip this one. Others on the island are much nicer and have a better selection of games. If you are staying close and don't want to drive elsewhere then it's at least worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Hollywood Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing