We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Kim Sha Beach

Kim Sha Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.00*
and up
St Maarten Kayak and Snorkel Adventure in Simpson Bay
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Prickly Pear Day Sail and Snorkel from St Maarten
Ranked #9 of 29 things to do in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing beach but beware of the color change. You will go from ankle deep to waist deep! I am staying the Villas at Simpson Bay Resort so some of the staff are all employed by the resort. Beach chairs are available. Staff are friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celiawhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    36
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“....aka Dog beach”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The locals call this the dog beach because tourists bring their dogs to the beach and unfortunately do not clean up after their pets when they go to the bathroom. Once we learned about this digusting practice we, like ALL the locals, never visited this beach for fear of stepping in or swimming with dog poo.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short beach day”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Kim Sha Beach is great if you bring your dogs. It has a large amount of beach front. However, if you are looking for a touristy beach with a lot of bars and energy, this is not it. It is a natural beach where they don't rake the beach. You have one bar to get drinks and resorts on each side of you. However, this is a very beautiful view of the sea and great views of catamarans.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank beangirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I loved this beach. The water was beautiful and the waves were perfect. I honestly don't even know how we came across this beach, but we were certainly glad we did.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LA BAMBA BEACH BAR!!! A MUST, if u like to party”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was staying at the Villas @ Simpson Bay and from my room i would always hear the loud music from La Bamba Beach Bar. My boyfriend and i decided to walk over to the bar through the beach... btw it was Latin Night (which is tuesdays nights).

Location: great location on Simpson Bay Area, Also known as kim Sha Beach or Cole bay..it is On the beach!! you won't see it from the outside roadway. but you will see the sign

Drinks: Beers $3, Drinks $8 or so

Music: since it was latin night, they played mostly Salsa, Merengue, Bachata, Reggaeton, Vallenatos and more <-- up to date music, so very cool

People: all types of ppl... Locals and visitors.. great vibe.. very crowded.. everyone dancing, talking and letting loose...

Overall experience: i had an amazing time at the La Bamba Beach Bar, i definitely recommend this place if you are looking to party and have a good time... Just find out what kind of night they are having, while you are staying on the island

btw: its a casual place and open air space < you are literally on the beach ;-) I'm not sure if they open during the day but they are certainly opened starting from evening to about to 2am

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ILoveYouJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim Sha Beach also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Kim Sha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing