We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding French food back on the Dutch side...”
Review of SO French

SO French
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding French food back on the Dutch side...”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I went to So French restaurant last night to celebrate our 28th Anniversary and were extremely pleased on our choice for such a special occasion. Our server Tony was outstanding. The view was romantic over looking the beach, the food was exceptional! My wife and I were just talking about how so many restaurants have gone down hill for one reason or another but So French made us talk about fine cuisine is back on the Dutch side. The escargot and scallop pastry puff was very pleasing to the palette.The filet mignon cooked to perfection. Take it from two people who love great food this place is a must for you to check out.
Michael & Regina Governara

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    49
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“French fare on the Dutch side”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Right on Simpson Bay overlooking the water. Food and service were both excellent. The Dover sole presentation was magnificent. Food was truly delicious. The service made you feel special. Wish I had the opportunity to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, de
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“first time french”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great experience! I was a little nervous about trying French food for the first time. Now I am definitely a fan. The food was great, the service was excellent and in the middle of Simpson Bay, was conveniently located.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank enlaw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinburg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Dining Experience on the Island”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were attracted by the pretty open air veranda with a view over Simpson Bay but we returned the very next evening to dine again because of the superb food and service. It was one of the nicest experiences we had on the island. There is much care and consideration given to make all the dishes special and delicious. You are treated like royalty from beginning to end. So do yourself a favour and dine here while in St Maarten.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and sophisticated!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Amazing! One of the best restaurants and dining experiences we have ever had. Great staff, amazing food, and RUM!! So good, we went back for a second night in a row. The staff was fantastic, the food was delicious, the Mojitos are amazing, and the Homeade rum is one of a kind-a must have! Highly recommend. I wish they opened a SO French in NYC so we could go all the time! Well deserved 5 stars! Thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SO French also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to SO French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing