We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun to navigate your own boat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhino Riders out to Creole Rock

Rhino Riders out to Creole Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.98*
and up
Self-Drive Boat Tour and Snorkel from Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun to navigate your own boat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I had a lot of fun riding the Rhino Riders! You take off from Simpson Bay and don't really get to let loose with the boats until you get out of the marina area and into the open water. It feels great to keep the throttle down and feel the wind and the water. The two guides that went with us kept it a fun atmosphere. We went all the way to Happy Bay, but didn't get to do any snorkeling due to the water having extremely low visibility (Probably due to Sandy coming through the week before). Even when at full speed, I never felt out of control with the boat. Our backsides were pretty sore afterwards from hitting waves pretty hard, but we both had a lot of fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Munky13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    121
    31
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Riding the waves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a must do on a sunny day. Driving your own rubber raft boat in Simpson Bay and along the western coast of St. Martin. What a great day we had. Snorkeling at Creole Rock was wonderful. We saw many colorful fish. An exciting adventure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebGuyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boats were fun but staff unprepared”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Tour was suppose to depart at 1030am but didn't leave until 1130am. We had to wait for the Rhino boats to arrive and once they did most needed fuel which was another delay. The crew also had difficulty starting some of the boats. Once we got moving the tour was fun but at least that morning things were unorganized and unprepared.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KPK695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a thrill that you cannot pass by.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I made sure that I had my own rhino boat as I did not want to hang on someone else. I loved the thrill of running through the water with the wind in my face. I would caution anyone with back problems-DO Not DO THIS!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen110551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Three in One Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived on St. Maarten by cruise ship and chose Rhino Riders as our excursion for the day. We wanted to choose something "different" to do on the island and were delighted with our choice. It turned out to be a three in one trip. We were transported by bus from the cruise terminal. As were drove to the harbour we had a wonderful tour along the way. The driver provided us with a very informative narrative about the island and it's history. After the obligatory session on safety and how to operate the Rhino Riders off we went. The watercraft are a cross between a zodiac and a jet ski. Very stable and easy to operate. Once outside the harbour and into the ocean the water was quite choppy. If you have any neck or back issues you may wish to think twice about this tour. Not sure if the water is choppy all the time but it was for us. It was a great way to tour the island from the ocean. We went to Happy Bay where we anchored and swam to shore. Happy Bay is a wonderful beach and a real highlight of the trip. Would have liked to have spent longer there and will go back. The staff were all courteous, friendly, and helpful as well as safety concious. For us the excursion was a bus tour of the island, a water tour on the Rhinos, as well as a beach break at Happy Bay. And there was still time for shopping before reboarding the cruise ship !

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank travellindad154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhino Riders out to Creole Rock also viewed

 

Been to Rhino Riders out to Creole Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing