We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hidden gem of the island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed July 28, 2010

As a young couple in our mid-twenties, we were looking for an affordable place that was close to nightlife, restaurants, and activities. After much research, we decided on the Turquoise Shell Inn and it was the perfect choice!! Marcus and the owner were extremely friendly and welcoming; they were helpful in offering suggestions for activities, dining, etc and even hooked us up with snorkel gear and beach towels for our excursion to Baie Rouge. Our room was perfect- it felt like we had our own apartment on the island. The decor was quaint and made us feel like we were in a cottage!

TSI was close to everything we needed- a 2 minute walk from the beach, next door to a car rental, down the street from the airport and of course, within walking distance of amazing must-eat restaurants. There was also. a small pool at the Inn as well that we used almost everyday.

Staying at TSI had a very personal feel that will keep us coming back! Thanks for an amazing stay guys!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeNina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Turquoise Shell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

Spent two nights at Turquoise Shell Inn prior to a week-long villa rental. The 10-room motel is in the heart of Simpson Bay. Excellent access to all the bars, restaurants and retail on Welfare Road - most are within walking distance. The efficiency two-room studios with full kitchenette are spotlessly clean and well stocked. The kitchenette allows the option of preparing food in your room to save a bit of $$ - there is a large grocery store less than 5 minutes away. Plenty of room for two adults and probably a couple of kids (though we didn't have ours.) The on-site manager, Marcus, could not possibly have been more accommodating. When was the last time the manager gave you a tour of your room and explained how everything works upon check-in? Marcus is also extremely knowledgeable about the island and very willing to share with his guests. Security is good - the grounds are gated and locked each night. Each guest receives a gate remote for easy access. There is a small pool - good for just a plunge, but with 37 beaches to explore the pool was not our priority.

Just a couple of minor drawbacks. Wi-fi is painfully slow. There is occasional jet noise as planes depart SXM. And the beach (Kim Sha Beach) located just a few steps outside the back gate is simply a lousy beach by St. Martin standards. Beach lovers will want to drive to the better beaches, though beach chairs and beach towels are provided by TSI.

But if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located, spotlessly clean, roomy and well-managed base for your stay on St. Martin, you will enjoy the Turquoise Shell Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtsuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Touqoise Shell is a well-maintained little hotel, between the beach (Simpson Bay) and the highway. The hotel features very clean rooms with a kitchen an sitting area, and is well-stocked for your basic needs (cable TV, coffee maker, aircon, fan, etc.). The Inn's staff are excellent, and expert on the island. they also provided us with beach chairs, umbrella, snokel mask, flippers, etc, etc. While this is a basic Inn, it has features that you will not find in the reather sterile and artficial resorts....The Inn is close to lots of great restaurants (our favorites were the Indian and Chinese restaurants accross the street, and the Kewi Cafe around the corner.. It is 100 feet or so from where you can ride the vans anywhere is the island ($1.50 per trip), and a short walk to a great many grocery stores, shops, etc., and is close to the simpson Bay Marina for day trips (we went to Saba--Don't miss it)...the Simpson Beach is just stepsbfrom the hotel, and is pristine and almost empty..We actually had fish swimming right up to us.The Turquoise Shell is also close to Mullet Beach (excellent!) and Maho Beach (where the planes come in).

We also enjoyed the fact that the Inn is close to neighborhoods were the locals live--We had a chance to speak with numerous residents and experience a slice of the island which is missing from Orient Beach and the standard resort.

We felt that the TI is a tremendous travel bargain and plan to go back.

The

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Not only did we enjoy the hotel (so comfortable and clean) we benefited from the assistance of our host who helped find restaurants, stores, beaches, island sites in addition to booking special activities such as our sunset cruise and snorkeling. He quickly responded to our every whim and we loved that part! Definitely deserves a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sniiiider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to meet the needs of every guest, to the best of our ability. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit to St Maarten and the T Shell Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Four of us stayed eight nights and had a wonderful time. There is a good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. I give thumbs up to the Pizza Galley just on the other side of the drawbridge and the little French bakery back the other direction towards the airport. If you don't mind slumming a bit, the little trailer shack bar in front of the hotel is great. We kept going back for the perfectly cooked tilapia/fresh baguette sandwiches ($5). Google "Hilma's Windsor Castle" to see a picture in the NY Times or pull up to the bar and see the same picture taped to her refrigerator.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chindogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This is a smaller hotel but very private and gated for security. Rooms on the 1st floor have private patio which are very nice and are shaded by big trees and smaller plants which are well taken care of. We were concerned at first because rooms 1, 2 (we were in) and 3 border the parking lot. This turned out not to be a big deal as there is no traffic in and out; many people do not rent cars as bus service is excellent. Rooms 4, 5, and 6 overlook the pool area which is very quaint. Walk through the back gate and you are on the beach! There are two restaurants you can walk to on the beach as well as many within walking distance on the main road. If you need a beach chair, umbrella, snorkeling equipment, sunscreen, a book to read, directions, etc., Carter is your go to guy. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. Have fun! Rudy and Sherry

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLK517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This place is the Best ! The staff Carter, Marcus & Pauline are very friendly & want to make sure you have the best vacation possible. Marcus booked all our excursion's, provided beach towels, chairs and a small cooler. This hotel is quaint, very clean and comfortable right on the water and a very short cab ride from the airport and walking distance to many great local restaurants! You can take a bus ride for $ 4 to Phillipsburg for great shopping, especially on jewelry! We will be staying here each time we visit St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flphotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, manager at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

We apprecite hearing from our guests about their experience at the T Shell Inn Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $136 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing