We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Kirksville, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love coming to St. Maarten and staying at the Turquoise Shell Inn, the hotel manager is excellent, friendly staff, wonderful pool and beach!

Excellent location, close to SXM, restaurants, shopping, and a bus ride away from the rest of the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    65
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
134
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I am a repeat guest because the locational and friendly staff. Carter can help you decide on restaurants and excursions. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare meals and keep dining cost down. The Grand Marche was close by for groceries, hot take out food, and booze. We tried to eat lunch and breakfast in then eat out for dinner. One night we used the blender and had our drinks by the pool and hammock. Beach chairs and toys are available at no charge however the bars and restaurants on Simpson beach also offer them if you are a patron. Cool snorkeling spot by sunken ship in Simpson bay. Really don't have to leave Simpson bay. I have been all over the island and this is the dest area to stay in since beach is not crowded and lots of dining and entertainment in walking distance. Power on island does go out from time to time but just short periods. Don't waste your time on tv or internet while you are there. Pineapple Pete for lobster thermadore, Byblos for dinner and hookah, Karakter for drinks and apps on the beach, Helmas Windsor castle for lunch and conversation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently had a fabulous stay at the Turquoise Shell Inn. It's situated in an ideal location, close to restaurants, shopping, and a 30 second walk to the beach. You really wouldn't need to rent a car if that is your preference. My room was very clean and the sheets were TO DIE FOR SOFT! It was furnished with a full-sized refrigerator and every kitchen utensil you would need for cooking. I will most certainly stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDAfrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Turquoise Shell Inn back in April 2013 and had a very enjoyable stay. The property is a pleasant and nice place consisting of 10 rooms. The rooms are more like a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen, living room, bathroom, and bedroom. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The air conditioner is in the bedroom and worked perfectly. There is a ceiling fan in the living room. My room also had a floor fan. The Turquoise Shell Inn is located just a few yards away across a very small road from Simpson Bay Beach which is a beautiful stretch of beach that extends all the way down close to where the airport is located. There is also a small swimming pool on the property. The owner, Carter, is a very nice man who is very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the island. He was always happy to answer any questions that I had. If you need some chairs and an umbrella for lounging on the beach, Carter has those available. He also has cell phones available for rent. The Turquoise Shell Inn is located very close to several restaurants, bars, and convenient stores. A couple of restaurants I can recommend are Lee's Roadside Grill(about a 10 minute walk) and The Palms Restaurant which is right next door to the Turquoise Shell Inn. Karakter restaurant is located on Simpson Bay Beach and is about a 20 minute stroll along the beach from the Turquoise Shell Inn. There is free wireless internet access available but there a place located just across the main road called "Mail Box" which has computers and internet access for very reasonable rates. If you are not renting a car and need transportation on the island, ask Carter about taking buses instead of taxis. The buses are very cheap. Carter can tell you how to distinguish the buses from taxis and how the system works. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in a great location and for excellent value, Turquoise Shell Inn is it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeansoul67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2013 and I just had to write a review about it. When we arrived Carter was there waiting for us. He greeted us with a smile and showed us around the well kept property and our entire trip he was there to answer any questions we had. The T-Shell is in the perfect location and a quick walk across a back lane takes you to a great spot on Simpson Bay beach. We always felt it was "our" beach as there were never many others around, which we loved. A great beach to walk...The room at the inn met our needs perfectly. We've done the large resort all inclusive and needed a change. We plan on returning March 2014 once again. There are all kinds of restaurants, bars, grocery stores all around the T-Shell so no need to rent a vehicle unless you really want to go further. (The buses are cheap cheap) Once again, I can't say enough good things about the T-Shell, so if you are thinking about visiting...don't hesitate. Any quesions please pm me and I'd be glad to answer the best I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabanagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We appreciate those that take the time to review our little Inn. It is a great compliment when a guest choses to return. It make us feel like we are doing at least some of the right things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at Turquoise Shell Inn because our cruise ship had mechanical difficulties. I TOLD my wife cruising would be hell, but she had to go. Too many people and all so fake! It's OUR vacay but we were on THEIR schedule.

When the boat broke down on St. Maarten, we decided to disembark and stay somewhere on the island for a few days. A taxi driver suggested this place so we said okay, to take us there. It is a lovely, quiet place with only 10 rooms. They're more like 1br apartments, with a kitchenette and living area. You step through a gate and across a quiet residential street to get to the beach. It's about 50ft away. There was a pool but I didn't use it as I prefer the beach. There was maid service every day and the place was very professionally run. I would send anyone there and will stay at the Turquoise Shell Inn on my very next visit to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I chose the T Shell Inn because of other reviews I found here. It did not disappoint! The rooms are pleasant, clean and offer all the necessary amenities. The beach is close by and a pleasant place to walk or sit and sip a beer. Close to good restaurants and a wonderful French bakery! Carter will help you find a good place to eat or make sure a taxi is there to take you to the airport!

If you're looking for a resort experience, this isn't the place for you. If you want a nice, clean place to stay that's also close to the airport, I think you'll enjoy it here. We were especially appreciative of the A/C in the bedroom -- didn't really need it in the living room, since that has a nice ceiling fan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing