We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Simpson Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is a karaoke bar next door to Turquoise Inn & the very loud music lasted tlill 3 am & then there was some sort of beeping right outside our window....so it was a sleepless night. There were mosquito nets in the room....not sure why?

Room Tip: Atrium was better...but staff at front desk was rude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Smc324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 238 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week this month and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We loved the separate bedroom as I'm an early riser and my husband is not. The kitchen was great - we loved being able to cook breakfast and keep all our leftovers in the fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The beach was steps away from the room - the beach wasn't visible from the hotel room but we were so close that it didn't matter. We loved the beach by the hotel - it was basically our own - as their weren't very many others using it. The location of the hotel was perfect as many great restaurants/grocery stores/activities were nearby. We would definitley come back and stay again.
Carter was a great host and Cornelia took great care of the room.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here during the Heineken regatta, it was a last minute reservation after our other accommodations with friends fell through. We didn't have a car, and the location was great for walking to town, and it was easy to get a taxi as well. The room has all the basic necessities, and it was nice to have the kitchen although we didn't use anything but the fridge. As others have commented, I have never seen a towel sign like theirs before (you will be charged extra if the white towels become stained). It seems to me that with all white towels, bleach would be an easy solution to that problem. We had an odd encounter with the manager/owner when we wanted to check out. As requested, my friend called the "front desk" to let him know that we planned to leave within the next 30 minutes. He told her that wouldn't be a convenient time for him to come downstairs, and he told her to come by in an hour instead. When she told me this, I called back and let him know that we would either check out now as requested, or leave our luggage in the room while we went to get breakfast, and check out when we return. He said that wouldn't be enough time for the housekeepers to clean, so I responded "Not a problem, we'll just check out now then." And we did. We enjoyed our stay here, but the exit process certainly made us uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyKonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights before checking into a resort. It was a great choice; very helpful owner, air conditioned clean room with separate bedroom and kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable. You may question your choice as you approach the location as it is nestled into a local neighbourhood. Once you enter the gate the bright yellow rooms and lush vegetation make you feel like you are in the real Carribean. You can walk to many restaurants and grocery stores. There is a small pool and the lovely beach is a short walk across a quiet street. The owner supplies beach chairs which we made use of. This is not a luxury hotel however we have fairly high standards and we felt at home here. Great value and a unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisureLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I (late twenties) stayed at Turquoise in mid February and we had an amazing time. This hotel is exactly what I was hoping for. The room was clean and comfortable. AC worked well. I didnt find it noisy at all (past reviews complained about the music from nearby clubs/restaurants)--except for Saturday night- but we were so tired from being out and about in the sun, having a few drinks etc... that we easily fell asleep. This is an awesome location!! There are so many restaurants/bars close by- we could walk everywhere. We were planning on renting a car but we decided against it- next time we will so that we can explore the French side. We walked to Mullet Bay and Maho (Yes it can be done Carter:) It took about half hour and we walked the beach and then through a neighbourhood however I wouldnt do that after dark just to be safe. I did feel very safe in Simpson Bay though. The hotel is a hop away from Simpson Bay beach which was never busy and beautiful. My bf and I spent most days there as we were mainly looking to just relax and stay put on this vacation. All you need is to bring a cooler and you can bring your own drinks down to the beach- totally perfect!! Anywas-Carter and Cornelia were very kind and helpful. We will definetly stay there again!!!

Room Tip: we were on the ground part, right in front of the parking lot so the view wasnt great but we didnt m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is awesome! Good location, close to everything. with nice, confortable and clean rooms.Carter and Cornelia make us feel like home!

I do recommend it and going back to Sint Marteen is there I am going to stay!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed here at least 6 times and the hotel is consistently clean and the service is friendly. The hotel is basic but good value for money and the location is good although there some of the adjacent night clubs are very noisy (till 3:30 p.m.). I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
3.5 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $169 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing