We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turquoise Shell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only spent one night as we were checking into time-share resort the next day but the Inn was everything advertised. Close to the airport, close to restaurants and night life and very easy access to the beach (just out the back door). Rooms were clean and adequately furnished. Carter was an excellent host and very willing to share info on where to dine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    65
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
131
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel is clean, nicely ran and a good place to stay as you would expect, but what I liked was to be in walking distance of EVERYTHING a nightlife loving girl would need.

Yes there was live music nearby, and I thank God for that as I never see live music anymore in the UK. If yoiu want peace and quiet stick in the ear plugs or try another place, but if you want a full flavour of St Maarten ... this place is it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FlemmingRockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was all we expeccted, but much more. Only a short stay as we were in transition to another island location. However, Carter Glass and Cornelia were extraordinaire as hosts. Comfortable rooms, Safe environment, decent beach access to Simpson Bay. TShell Inn has it all. With a little luck we will visit again and stay much longer. Thanks Carter and Cornelia.

Room Tip: Because it was but a short stay and my spouse has difficulty with stairs, we had a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooka2Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

On the plus side: The place is close to the airport and resturants, clean, air conditioned. Decent kitchen for eating in.
Minus side: VERY VERY VERY noisy at night. Luckily for me I travel with ear plugs but the local music nearby was very loud and went on very late. The innkeeper greated us with the warmth and enthusiasm of a convict doing his required community service. There is also a rather surely note in the bathroom stating that guests will be charged extra if the white towels were too dirty. Just provide tan towels then everyone can relax. There are better properties to stay at in the same price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cort008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am sorry that this guest , who stayed for one night, encountered so many problems. We are located in the heart of Simpson Bay, walking distance to many restaurants and bars. On this particular Saturday night, the noise was MUCH louder than usual. We do have some issues with the music on Fridays and Saturdays. However , many guests comment on how quiet the property is during the day and most nights, considering our convenient location. Our beach, just out the back gate, makes for easy access. I do not remember being so grumpy,( I guess we all have our days) when they checked in but again, my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week long trip to the island. It is a lot closer to the beach than is described. Our experience was that the beach was clean and very private. Most of the time we were the only people on the beach......so it was nice to have it private. We were able to walk to Maho beach from this hotel. About a 35 mintue walk, but most of it was a relaxing walk on the beach. So, we did that several days while we were there. We did rent a car for 2 days, which Carter helped arrange. The car was dropped off at our hotel room and picked up the same way, so it was very convenient. While we drove around the island we stopped at some other beaches, and it made us grateful for our private beach near the Turquoise Shell Inn. On some of the more touristy beaches people try and sell you stuff while you are trying to relax and take a nap or read books. This became increasingly annoying at other beaches. The hotel was in walking distance of many great restaurants and bars. It is in a more local area of town, so we met several locals very quickly who were eager to answer any questions we had about the island. The hotel room has a full kitchen, and is close to grocery stores. We made our own breakfasts everyday that we were there and ate it while sitting on the porch and reading the local newspaper. There are beach chairs to borrow which were great! Also snorkel gear and books, which we did not end up taking advantage of. It is a 10 dollar cab ride to the airport so that makes it very convenient as well. We stayed here in the off season (september) and found that the weather was great even with the occasional rain shower. The rain showers were actually a nice break from the extreme heat at times. We would definitely stay here again, and stay here again in the off season as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here on our way to other islands and it was a great choice. It was very close to the airport so very convenient for an early flight and a $10 cab ride - plus there are restaurants and bars in walking distance. It was affordable, allowing us to spend more money in our final destination. While I would probably not stay here for a full week, it was the perfect place to stop in transit. The staff was extremely friendly and the place was pretty spacious. We did spend some time at the beach. Although the beach closest to the hotel was dirty- full of garbage and seaweed, the hotel has off-street parking so on on our return trip (we stayed here on both ends of a trip to St. Barts) we rented a car and went to prettier beaches. Given the cost of most hotels on this island, this is a great bargain and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Bring $50 cash - you'll need to give a key deposit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dkdkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This cozy little inn in Simpson Bay near the airport in Sint Maarten was a good base of operation for my wanting to make day trips to the many nearby islands via small plane airlines and ferries. You get to choose your room when you book and you can reserve online and make an initial payment via credit card. I chose a second floor room (called first floor on their website using the European terminology as to floor designations.) which is selected from a list on their website showing the dates that a particular room is available. Carter, the manager and owner, was very friendly and helpful. Off season good price. They have a small pool and if you walk across the alley in the back, you are on a sandy beach after a few steps. My "room" (Room 10) had a combined spacious full kitchen and living room with TV and wi-fi, 110- electricity and ceiling and floor fans. The large bedroom had a big bed, closet and chest of drawers and A/C. The bathroom was clean and nice including a European style body wash and shampoo dispenser in the shower. Carter helped setup some solo tours and made one of the ferry reservations for me. There is a McDonald's and supermarket less than a block away as well as many restaurants and shops on nearby Simpson Bay road.

Room Tip: I chose a second floor (European- first floor) room so I could look out and see more of the surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alegria
Alegria
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing