We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This cozy little inn in Simpson Bay near the airport in Sint Maarten was a good base of operation for my wanting to make day trips to the many nearby islands via small plane airlines and ferries. You get to choose your room when you book and you can reserve online and make an initial payment via credit card. I chose a second floor room (called first floor on their website using the European terminology as to floor designations.) which is selected from a list on their website showing the dates that a particular room is available. Carter, the manager and owner, was very friendly and helpful. Off season good price. They have a small pool and if you walk across the alley in the back, you are on a sandy beach after a few steps. My "room" (Room 10) had a combined spacious full kitchen and living room with TV and wi-fi, 110- electricity and ceiling and floor fans. The large bedroom had a big bed, closet and chest of drawers and A/C. The bathroom was clean and nice including a European style body wash and shampoo dispenser in the shower. Carter helped setup some solo tours and made one of the ferry reservations for me. There is a McDonald's and supermarket less than a block away as well as many restaurants and shops on nearby Simpson Bay road.

Room Tip: I chose a second floor (European- first floor) room so I could look out and see more of the surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    65
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
133
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a great week in SXM. My wife and i,stayed at The Torquoise Shell Inn. Carter,the owner
made us feel at home.Our apartment was neat and clean,and Corneila,the housekeeper checked up on us each day.If we needed anything just check with Carter or Cornelia,they are on
top of everything.Safe place with OFF STREET PARKING,thats a plus. We were in wallking distance of everthing.We highly recommend The Turquoise Shell Inn.Great value.Nice folks.
We will return.Oh one more thing folks plenty of cable channels.
Jack and June Clowney
Winston-Salem NC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I knew I picked the right place when I stepped onto the cheerful flip flop mat in the lobby and saw a fresh tropical floral arrangement. The innkeeper greeted me with ripe bananas plucked from the tree outside the lobby. She then showed me to my room which was cool and bright with everything I could to need for a tropical vacation, i.e. wine opener, citronella candle, and soft towels for my sunburn. I slept well under the beautiful sand dollar bed spread, smooth sheets, and a reading lamp by the bed for the book I borrowed from Turquoise Shell library. Staff was excited to point me towards the island's best restaurants, beaches, and events. Simpson Bay was right there offering beautiful waters for "bobbing" and a shipwreck for snorkeling ("thank you" to the Inn for the snorkel gear). The sparkling pool was surrounded by tropical plants of which the staff knew every name. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Turquoise Shell offer mosquito nets for the beds which I didn't need but adds a romantic touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Turquoise Shell is a very nice, older Inn. It is extremely well cared for. Much Tropical plants. Nice little pool. The Inn is within walking distance of many good restaurants of all price ranges. It is only steps off SImpson Bay Beach which is very long and sandy. Also quiet and beautiful.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any great difference in rooms, although half the rooms are on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SXMNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The price was right, staff were wonderful! It felt much more like I had my own apartment than a hotel, except that I had fresh sheets & clean rooms each day! I loved it and will DEFINITELY stay here again! Walking distance to several hotspots and the convenient beach was private with a beautiful view! I loved the gardening and green umbrella of trees that shaded the patios & balconies (2 story building); just remember the bug spray to ward off mosquitoes if you plan to spend time on your patio or the small in-ground pool. (Not big enough for laps but great for a dip none the less!). Mosquitoes are anywhere on the island though, NOT exclusive to this place.)

Room Tip: It is an intimate place to stay (only 10 apts, I believe) so any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Lovely rooms, very spacious. Carter spent much time showing us around the property, and he was easy to contact if we had any questions. He helped us so much with making ferry reservations and calling a taxi when we needed it. He is very knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean and beautiful. The inn is very close to the airport. The beach access was very convenient. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PockyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Cornelia and I do our best to make each guest feel welcome and enjoy a clean comfortable room. In this case, we seem to have hit the mark. I appreciate guests taking time to write a review so that other guests can use the information to their advantage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.3 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing