We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Turquoise Shell Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turquoise Shell Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staying at Turquoise Shell Inn”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Turquoise Shell is a very nice, older Inn. It is extremely well cared for. Much Tropical plants. Nice little pool. The Inn is within walking distance of many good restaurants of all price ranges. It is only steps off SImpson Bay Beach which is very long and sandy. Also quiet and beautiful.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any great difference in rooms, although half the rooms are on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SXMNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    65
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
134
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The price was right, staff were wonderful! It felt much more like I had my own apartment than a hotel, except that I had fresh sheets & clean rooms each day! I loved it and will DEFINITELY stay here again! Walking distance to several hotspots and the convenient beach was private with a beautiful view! I loved the gardening and green umbrella of trees that shaded the patios & balconies (2 story building); just remember the bug spray to ward off mosquitoes if you plan to spend time on your patio or the small in-ground pool. (Not big enough for laps but great for a dip none the less!). Mosquitoes are anywhere on the island though, NOT exclusive to this place.)

Room Tip: It is an intimate place to stay (only 10 apts, I believe) so any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Lovely rooms, very spacious. Carter spent much time showing us around the property, and he was easy to contact if we had any questions. He helped us so much with making ferry reservations and calling a taxi when we needed it. He is very knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean and beautiful. The inn is very close to the airport. The beach access was very convenient. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PockyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Cornelia and I do our best to make each guest feel welcome and enjoy a clean comfortable room. In this case, we seem to have hit the mark. I appreciate guests taking time to write a review so that other guests can use the information to their advantage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great & central location, clean & well equipped rooms, friendly staff, a few steps from the beach and GREAT price! What else do you need? Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our first trip to St. Martin and Turquoise Shell Inn was the perfect place to stay.Our room was more than large enough and very clean.The beach was just a very short walk away and because we had a car rental we got to explore the island.Carter was extremely nice and answered any questions that we had.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was our first short break in St. Martin and we loved it! The inn is very clean and the manager very polite and hand-on. This is a friendly environment so you feel like home. In addition, Simpson Bay is a good location, many restaurants around, clear beach and stunning sunset. We rented a car at the airport and explored the whole island on a weekend. Enjoy the Dutch and French sides.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs is close to the parking and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRRSCTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Property: Turquoise Shell Inn
Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing