We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect day”

Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
St Maarten Snorkeling and Discovery Tour
Ranked #6 of 39 Tours in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and experience the island of Sint Maarten and St Martin by motor boat. Try either (or both!) of our two regular daily tours of the island or charter a boat for that custom, private experience. For the adventurers, we host a daily 6 hour tour of the premier snorkeling and beach spots on the island. For a more laid back experinece, we host an evening Sunset Champagne Cruise of one of the Caribbean's largest inland lagoons; followed by the unique, amazing experience of watching the sun slowly sink into the horizon over the open sea. On any of our organized tours we provide an open bar with food and snacks crafted with care and attention. We use only quality ingredients to ensure your day is not only good for the eyes but good on the taste buds as well. Our professional, knowledgeable captains and crew are always on hand to ensure you enjoy your trip. On snorkeling tours our crew are actually in the water with you to guide and instruct you on the abundant and diverse wildlife you'll encounter around the island. You will never hear a whistle, bell or horn telling you to get back on the boat. For the more free-willed explorers, our boats are available for private charters if you would like to customize your tour to take in a few of the lesser known highlights or visit that hidden gem that you heard from that guy back at your hotel (tides and weather permitting).
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect day”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband, two children (ages 9 & 10) and I went on this trip yesterday and I can't say enough positive things about it. We truly enjoyed every bit of it. Our captain, Douglas was polite, informative, accommodating and fun. The weather was perfect and the lunch delicious. I highly recommend them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melakneec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    20
    4
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“fun day around the island”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

we were sold on this trip from Anna on the beach at maho. One thing that was great is that everything that she sold us on we did from snorkling in the reefs to seeing sea turtles, and going to pinel island we actually did. the food was alot better than i expected with a chicken sandwich from a french bakery, and the beer was unlimited. There was as much time as you needed for snorkling without feeling rushed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Day”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent the day with these folks almost by accident & I'm ever so happy it happened. Nobody else answered phone calls & the activities desk at our hotel was closed that day so I started calling around and Carla answered.
Anthony, the "Surfer Dude" picked us up in his Surfer Van & off we went.
I tell you be open mined and you'll be glad you were. Van is nothing fancy but it gets the job done and Anthony is Gregarious, friendly, talkative and funny. These boats are small and do not have toilets so use your imagination, roll with it and have a good time.
The Captain/Host aboard was friendly, knowledgeable and an excellent boat handler. He gave history, had a great sense of humor, pointed out many points of interest. Keep him around Carla, he reads the sea exceptionally well and as a result even the ride was very gentle.
He kept us watered, fed, cocktailed, informed, amused, educated, told us what to look for as we snorkeled, where the best spots in particular were to see things as we snorkeled, pointed out fish species, found swimming turtles for people to see & swim with. He ensured we saw the huge hermit crabs and lizards covering the deserted island, gave some history and not once for a moment lost his good humor.
When we got back we partook of the wonderful little patisserie out front, fabulous!
Do yourself a favor and spend a day with these young entrepreneurs in paradise!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DougConsults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice to get out on the sea”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have been to St Maarten many times, visited all the beaches and ate in all the best restaurants, but we have never taken a trip like this. That's probably because we never had the opportunity, which is why I can recommend a wonderful day on the high seas, with not a pirate in site, but plenty of other highlights. We (four of us) snorkeled, drank and cruised the waves for a very hot and sunny day. We saw the turtles, some saw rays and other just enjoyed the cool waters, the cool beers and the rum...of course! I can recommend this to anybody wanting to get another view of the island, and the surrounding islands. We all loved it and it was well worth the price. Thank you Coconut Reef.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bugei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great day snorkeling and a great value”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I wanted to be sure and write a review for coconut reef because I know we were a little nervous about booking the trip. Anna approached us while we were on Mullet beach and after talking to her, we thought it sounded like exactly the kind of snorkeling trip we wanted to take, on a smaller boat. I have never liked the mega catamaran trips with so many people in the water. So although we had never heard of them, we decided to take a chance and we are so glad we did. Everything was as advertised. We loved Captain Rick!! He was entertaining, but also very good at what he did. We didn't have the best day with some rain, but Capt. Rick did his best to make it work out for us. We got swim with turtles at Tintammare and that was fantastic. We also had to stand in the pouring rain to eat our sandwiches for lunch, but Coconut Reef can't control the weather! All in all, it was a great trip and I highly recommend them. Oh, and also, Capt. Rick can mix a mean rum punch!! Thanks for a great day!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Coconut Reef Power Boat & Snorkelling Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing