We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Persian Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crave

Crave
Ranked #7 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mediterranean grill & brasserie, healthy digest, fresh food. Gluten-free menu available. Bring your own wine NO CORKING FEE Come hungry, bring your appetite, NO CREDIT CARDS.
Newburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Persian Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a variety of dishes and all were excellent. We started with the Hummus, eggplant and meatballs- all were delicious. Main Courses included lamb shank, apricot chicken, walnut chicken with accompaniments of spinach yogurt and the cucumber yogurt. No one was disappointed. Service was excellent and we had the fried chocolate for dessert. Our daughter tried the chocolate tea and it was yummy! The house gave us an after dinner shot of peach schnapps. It was one the the highlights of our vacation dining experiences.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    83
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Persian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Crave is a great casual restaurant in Simpson Bay. The decor is simple and almost zen-like. There is a wall with quotes reminding you to enjoy life. There are books to peruse. The owner welcomes you and very enthusiastically ( maybe a little too enthusiastically) recommends the various menu options. Eggplant dip appetizer, lamb shank, and vegetarian platter were all excellent. I never thought i could get excited about a rice side dish, but their basmati rice was fantastic! The owner explained the complicated cooking process- the end result is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMikeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“5+ Stars all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food is incredibly tasty, the service is excellent, the menu has a good selection for the adventurous and the more conservative pallet. We have been here numerous times and have never had a complaint.

No matter what you order from this restaurant the food is amazing - burgers to lamb and everything in between. Make sure you get the Crave sauce!

Ace is there to answer any questions about the menu and to help you decide what to choose - we always go with his suggestion and have never been disappointed.

My only complaint is they aren't close to home! I always look forward to our meals there each time we go to St. Maarten - and we always eat at Crave multiple times each trip. If I could give more than 5 stars I would.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chil2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For the open minded...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The service at this small restaurant was excellent. Ace is the man with a plan. He can help navigate the simple to the more daring. We loved the atmosphere and the food. Tried many items with his advice that we might not otherwise. First dinner of the visit, which set the bar high for the rest.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Crave was recommended to us to try and we were not disappointed. At first glance it is this small unpretentious little place that you aren't quite sure of when you walk in the door. What was awaiting us next was an experience like we have never had before.

The owner/wait staff was very attentive and explained everything on the menu in detail. It was nice to have this explanation, but it would also be nice to just have this information on a menu as we heard the gentleman repeat himself to every table that came in.

We tried his favourite eggplant dip as an appetizer, which was pointed out several times as "not baba ganoush". It was delicious! Worth every bite.


Our main dish was a chicken with walnuts and pomegranate. I was surprised that my husband was willing to try something like this but it was phenomenal. The waiter suggested to also order one of their home made yogurts to have a bite of after each bite of the main meal to cleanse the palate. He also explained to take a piece of each item of the main meal with every bite.

It seemed a bit complicated but man when that dish came, he was right. It was like nothing we had ever had before! The only thing that both my husband and I said when we left was that the yogurt dips were $7.00 each. They seemed to push them quite hard and everyone orders it as it seems like it's necessary to really enjoy the meal. We thought that such an item should just be made to be part of the meal like some places serving bread.

All in all a very very good experience and would recommend if you have not tried it yet to at least go once.

Helpful?
Thank mel_o_dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing