We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crave

Crave
Ranked #7 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mediterranean grill & brasserie, healthy digest, fresh food. Gluten-free menu available. Bring your own wine NO CORKING FEE Come hungry, bring your appetite, NO CREDIT CARDS.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a meal!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to try this restaurant since we heard wonderful things about it! Ace was running the place himself and really did a great job explaining each dish & drink on the menu. Being right on The main road was noisy but they tried to camouflage with beautiful greens & it was a gorgeous evening. I had the fish in chunks served over basamati rice, chopped salad & eggplant yogurt dip on the side. Delicious! My husbands lamb shank was the best he has had & he raved about the eggplant dip & doesn't even like eggplant! Thanks for a great meal... One must fit this into their schedule .. Well worth it! Oh... Have the Moroccan drink... So very refreshing & tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    83
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
252 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my first visit to crave. The menu is Mediterranean with a heavy Persian influence. The menu items are cooked the old fashioned way, all on the stove- no ovens or microwaves are in the kitchen. My dinner was delicious.-chicken cooked with apricots and plums for more than 6 hours was like a thick stew. I would definitely order this again. Nice try for something different from the regular island fare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not your typical island cuisine... DELICIOUS down to the last bite!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When my husband and I walked into Crave on Thursday, July 26, our first night on the island, we weren't sure that we were in the right place. We had decided to start our vacation with the Trip Advisor #1 rated restaurant on St. Maarten, but the decor didn't excite us. Nevertheless, we thought that we would give it a try and opted to sit outside. As the evening progressed, we became more and more impressed with the quality of the food (gazpacho to start, the special house side dishes, most definitely the lamb!, & finally the caramelized carrots dessert) and with the super friendly and hard-working disposition of the co-owner / waiter, Ace. He made us feel at home. We enjoyed our conversation with Ace, as well as every bite of the meal prepared by his wife, the restaurant's chef, and look forward to going back to Crave to try other dishes. Oh, the pitcher of sangria was delicious too! Bring cash, as they don't accept credit cards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank irisha1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were so impressed with this restaurant. Ace is marvelous! He shared the menu with us and it's quite entertaining to listen to his explanation of the dishes. The food was the best we had on the island! The four of us had different dishes and we were all extremely pleased with the taste and presentation of the food. I highly recommend this restaurant and hope that we can return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Meal on the Island”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place really does deserve it's number one ranking on Trip Advisor. It was awesome.

Ace started off with an amusing explanation of the menu and specials. He gave us the extensive drink menu first and we elected a pitcher of sangria, which he promptly made himself. It was delicious. Then we ordered the eggplant dip and olive tapanade for our appetizers. Both were great but the eggplant dip is as good as everyone says on here. Wow! I had the falafel special. As with most falafel, it's only as good as the yogurt dips it comes with. We got the cucumber and spinach and both were excellent. For dessert, we couldn't resist the fried Twix bars and homemade vanilla ice cream. Again, Wow!

This place stands out on an island full of continental cuisine. Don't miss it. Seriously.


Tips:

-They DON'T take credit cards so bring cash. There's an ATM across the street.

-Park at the bank across the street

-Ace said Saturday nights during low season are their slowest nights. You will be sure to get in then.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing