We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crave

Crave
Ranked #7 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mediterranean grill & brasserie, healthy digest, fresh food. Gluten-free menu available. Bring your own wine NO CORKING FEE Come hungry, bring your appetite, NO CREDIT CARDS.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great service and authentic food. Don't go on Sunday, they're closed so workers can attend church. Nice, quiet, quaint. Average price ($20-30/ entree)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    83
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every bite was delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by Crave earlier this week for dinner and were able to get a table without a reservation. I was surprised by how small the restaurant is - only 10 tables - but it makes for a cozy setting. The owners designed the space so that they could run it themselves. Ace runs the front of the house serving tables and keeping guests happy with great drinks and easy conversation, while his wife, Naz, runs the kitchen. The cocktails are interesting and yummy, and every single bite of food was delicious. We shared the appetizer platter which allowed us to experience the eggplant & pita, meatballs and olives. I thought the olives would be bizzare with a peanut butter sauce, but they were amazing and a novelty. I can highly recommend the lamb shank as well as the chicken in apricots & plums. The dessert was a surprise to my taste buds - carrot parfait with fresh cream which paired perfectly with coffee. I highly recommend Crave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
we are so happy you enjoyed your night and meal at Crave,thank you for your very kind review
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolbotn, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what I needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place gave me back my appetite after eating american food for a week and a half. The best place I have visited for the two weeks I was at St Maarten!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heimlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
your kind review is what we needed after a long day work.thank you so much :)
Kind Regards,Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's #1 on TripAdvisor for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great place. Really good Mediterranean food!
They had a wide selection.
The propietors, Ace & Naz, have an amazing story
about how they ended up on SXM. Go ask them for the details ...
He's the waiter, she's the cook!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_Parrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review.it made our day.we are lucky to have guests like you and couldnt be happier for you to enjoy your night at Crave
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Oh yes it was that good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I went to Crave on July 6th. The restauarnt is clean, nicely decorated with local artwork and has a cool vibe. The owner greeted us and took the time to explain in detail just how much time and preparation he puts into making every meal on the menu. He also went on to explain how his dishes are a "tasting experience" which can be further highlighted by various dipping sauces. We first ordered the humus dip as an appetizer; it was delicious and fresh. We all orderd the same chicken kebob dish for dinner; the chicken was tender and juiicy and was marinated in spices to perfection. To compliment the meal we heeded the owner's recommendation that we order at least one dipping sauce from the menu; we agreed and ordered all three. The various combination of sauces and chicken was sublime; wonderful, just as the owner described. He really knows his food and is passionate about his craft which is exactly what you should be looking for when choosing a restaurant to dine at. When that happens wonderful and memorable meals occur and this was one of them for us. All of us were full from dinner and passed on dessert. If you are in Simpson Bay take the time to go here, you will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 855Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your very kind and sweet review.it was our pleasure having you at Crave
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing