We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bar in Pelican Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Piano SXM

The Red Piano SXM
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of Pelican, The Red Piano Bar is unquestionably on the St Maarten bucket list. Welcoming piano players from all around the world, this amazing venue has live music 7 days a week. Every Monday night, tourists, residents, the young and the less young come together to see the legendary band "Church on Monday" and witness St Maarten's most talented artists. Voted #1 local band in St Maarten five years in a row, Church on Monday never fails to impress. Furthermore, this spot certainly has a drink for every taste bud, from the island classics like the Red Piano Rum Punch to the inevitable Espresso Martini. The Red Piano's friendly bartenders will make you feel like family as soon as you walk through the door, and after a few drinks, they may even let you know all of their island secrets... The Red Piano bar has the widest liquor choice on the island with over 300 bottles on its shelves, from extra old rum, single malt whiskey to fine cognac and champagne. Come early for quiet after dinner cocktail, melt in the cozy decor, enjoy the jazzy piano vibes and you will surely end up staying until the craziness begins! If you're lucky enough, you might even get to dance on the piano until the wee hours of the morning... Don't forget to visit the brand new boutique on your way out and bring back a piece of your Red Piano memory with you! The Red Piano is open from 7pm until 3am, 365 days a year, and now is the first smoke-free Piano Bar/Nightclub on St Maarten.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bar in Pelican Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Want to have a great evening - go to the Red Piano Bar on Bill Folly Road.. Had a great time and for the month of May 2014 the music will be awesome... Alan Shepherd from Barbados will be playing and its party time... Great music, great bartenders - loved it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    52
    9
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If only I knew it was a cigar bar....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Ok, so the music is great!! The only problem, which for my group was a big problem, is that they allow smoking. This was a HUGE turn off for my group and several other groups I saw come and go. It was a smoke-filled bar with no apparent ventilation system....it reaked. The drinks are delicious, though. They have a huge martini menu as well as many other drinks. It was hard to choose. We ended up getting martinis, and they did not disappoint. YUM! It's a shame they allow smoking as we would have come here every night had they not. We ended up only staying for one drink as we just couldn't stand the smell. And there is an outside area to smoke so not sure why they allow it inside. The woman who sang the night we were there was great- excellent voice and played a lot of crowd-pleasers...from classic rock to country.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPG1983, General Manager at The Red Piano SXM, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We are proud to announce that we are now a smoke-free establishment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tunes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We came on the recommendation of the crew at the Dighy Dock. Glad we did. Was a fun night and worth the drive. Great mix of people.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
530 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Find it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you are looking for live entertainment - make sure you find Red Piano. Nice bar with live entertainment, covers a range of music and eras. Friend staff and good prices.

You wont be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nattysimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bar/ night life on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Such a wonderful time, great service and good music. Always our favorite place to go for drinks. We enjoy the piano bar atmosphere, best one on the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mtroyer0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Piano SXM also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Red Piano SXM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing