We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok version of Thai food yet very pricey!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Panlaan Thai on the Bay - CLOSED

Panlaan Thai on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The only waterfront Thai restaurant in St. Maarten. Authentic Thai cuisine in a tranquil waterfront surrounding with both, indoor and outdoor seating...Open everyday. Lunch 12pm-3pm Monday-Friday Dinner 6pm-10pm Sunday-Thursday Dinner 6pm-11pm Friday-Saturday
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok version of Thai food yet very pricey!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Eaten Thai food in many parts of the world and been here 3-4 times. Theirs is ok version yet on the pricey side. Tried the mango salad, chicken in green curry, pad Thai were mediocre. But I did enjoy the pork..

Day we went, the lagoon was emanating foul effluent odor. It seems close to where the restaurant is located (on the eastern end of Simpson Bay lagoon), effluent waste are pumped there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Kay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    61
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romance and Lovely Thai Food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very sophisticated ambience of grey and orange settings overlooking the Simpson Bay. We went at dinner with well needed reservations and sat outside by the water. Had drinks and enjoyed Pad Thai ;appetizers and had no room for desserts. They have a sofa area if you prefer to drink there. The menu was explained as mild or hot or hotter so listen before ordering. We had beautiful breezes;the full moon,wine and wonderful food. The owner came by and the waitress was good. This was our 3rd time there. A must try for all. The sauces and heat are different with each item unlike chinese where everything tastes the same. Have fun..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is for sure the best place to have Thai Food!!! Very friendly service and the food is delicious! Tip: Try GANG PHED PED YANG... best Duck - Dish I ever had!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaniaSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cockroaches = 1 star. Such a shame.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I would love to tell you all how wonderful PanLaan is, but we only got half way through our meal. I had a duck curry that I was enjoying and my husband had a noodle dish with shrimp, until a troop (3 or 4) cockroaches ran out of the kitchen and across the floor to our table. This kind of ruined our evening. The service was disorganised but polite and the food was good until we instantly lost our appetites. The waitress, Elle, who was new there, did her best to apologise and make it right, but when your appetite is gone, it's gone. Such a shame.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria_Sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalyDesigns, Guest Relations Manager at Panlaan Thai on the Bay, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review.

We invite travelers to read reviews other than that from sullen former staff
for better objectivity. We further invite you to come to Pan Laan for a
wonderful waterfront dining experience!

We can state emphatically that our Cockroaches are among the most talented in
St Maarten; only operating at the highest level of professionalism and
etiquette. They would simply never introduce themselves to your table without
a formal invitation and répondez s'il vous plaît. (R.S.V.P.). They also quiet
frankly feel it is beneath their social status to even enter our kitchen.

Unfortunately we are unable to promise you a personal performance or
autographs from our Cockroaches as they are now in such high demand. However
for the month of June, inform your server that you had hoped to see our famous
Cockroaches, and you will receive 10% off whichever Entrée you order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wanted to try something different”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Been visiting St Maarten for 9 or 10 years and had a poor experience with Thai so stayed away. This year we meet some friends on OB that recommended Panlaan and invited us to return with them. It was an excellent evening. A little hard to find nested between two larger buildings, but worth the find. Located directly on the edge of Simpson bay with a good view and excellent service as well as excellent food. For the price a deal and evening hard to beat.

St. Maarten/St. Martin has the best restaurants in the Caribbean and we will start adding Panlaan to that list and make it one of our annual visits from now on.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panlaan Thai on the Bay also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing