We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai”
Review of Panlaan Thai on the Bay - CLOSED

Panlaan Thai on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The only waterfront Thai restaurant in St. Maarten. Authentic Thai cuisine in a tranquil waterfront surrounding with both, indoor and outdoor seating...Open everyday. Lunch 12pm-3pm Monday-Friday Dinner 6pm-10pm Sunday-Thursday Dinner 6pm-11pm Friday-Saturday
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Thai”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was by far one of the best Thai restaurants we have ever been to. It is set on the marina with inside or outside dining. We sat outside which was lovely, looking out over the marina. Everyone was very friendly and the service was great. For dinner we had the beef stir fry and pad Thai. Both were excellent and full of flavor. The whole experience was excellent. The food was so good and so many things we wanted to try we got take out one night. It was excellent as well. Just watch and they did warn me hot is really hot. This is on the list anytime we visit St Martin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    61
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Thai food on the water”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had an exceptional meal at Panlaan Thai. Everyone tried something different, and we were all pleased. We tried a noodle, curry, and friend rice dish. All were delicious, as were the appetizers, including crispy pork. The staff is very friendly and pleasant, and the prices are reasonable for the island. Can't say anything about the desserts because no one had any room. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LandMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Thai”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The first good thing of the restaurant is the service! It is one of the best in the ISLAND! the food was good but a bit to spicy for my taste. In general is was a good meal! Really enjoyed it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great flavors, friendly quick service, great for Thai.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The cheese apt was wonderful, the chicken pad thai was good but way too much chicken for me.
The fried rice was good, the soup was a meal in itself and tasty & very large but had bathroom issues for a day after eating there both times. Really great flavors and service was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USAdinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely people and great food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great Thai food, served by very friendly staff.

The servings are American size, which is a pity, Thai food is much better with smaller portions at smaller prices, so that you can have many more dishes for the same price and quantity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panlaan Thai on the Bay also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing