We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look hard to find this place”
Review of Panlaan Thai on the Bay - CLOSED

Panlaan Thai on the Bay
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The only waterfront Thai restaurant in St. Maarten. Authentic Thai cuisine in a tranquil waterfront surrounding with both, indoor and outdoor seating...Open everyday. Lunch 12pm-3pm Monday-Friday Dinner 6pm-10pm Sunday-Thursday Dinner 6pm-11pm Friday-Saturday
Ocean Park, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Look hard to find this place”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a nice little restaurant on the lagoon at Simpson Bay. Look hard to find this gem. The stir fry that I had was very good. There are signs coming from Cole Bay into the Simpson Bay area just after the Casino on the right. It is in the back building of the two 5 story buildings. Good luck finding a parking space but there is plenty of space on the main road (Welfare Rd). If you look close enough it is in back of the Carribbean Bank building.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    61
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
marietta
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and very good food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

From a person who doesn't really like Thai food, this food was very, very good. Party of 8 including a 10 month old and a 4 year old did not phase this very fine restaurant.

We were seated outside under a canopy (good thing because it poured for about 2 minutes during our meal and we never got wet!). Our waiter, Leon, was very nice and very knowledgable. He helped us order our appetizers, and they were all fantastic. We ordered the chicken satay, spring rolls, fried pork and hot and spicy wings. There was nothing left after my crew got over it.

For dinner, most of my crew got the pan thai in various spices and meats and it was all wonderful. I had the ginger chicken and not only did I love it, so did my 10 month old!!!

But better than the food was the service. The bartender cut up a strawberry and added a little chocolate sauce for my 4 year old. They had wine by the glass, and my wife tried 3 different ones and settled on the Bordeaux blend.

Overall, it was a very, very lovely night for my family and I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legaljacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“wonderful food, great service, and lovely view”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This may be the best Thai restaurant in which I have eaten. The combination of flavors managed to create food that was complex when eaten--first you perceived the soy, then realized there was an underlying heat from ginger or chili. But it wasn't so firey that you were overwhelmed. We sat on their outside patio and overlooked the Lagoon while we ate crispy pork on thai noodles and couldn't decide if the view, service, or food were better. When it started to rain the waiters swooped in and helped move our table back farther under the awnings so that we stayed out of the blowing rain. If you like Thai food, this is a must. If you like other Asian foods, but aren't familiar with Thai food the staff will take the time to explain any of the menu items.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldwanderingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food with wonderful ambiance!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The food was wonderful and the seating by the water made it even more memorable. We were able to get seating despite no reservations. Would suggest getting them for a Saturday night! It was a bit windy that night so we had to be a bit weary with the wind gusts but what else to expect on one of the windward islands? Overall wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jet352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thai Food on the Bay”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good. We had a curry dish and a shrimp dish with cellophane noodles (can't remember the Thai names). The heat level is accurate: one dish was Hot and the other Medium. The Hot dish (the curry) grew on us as we got used to the heat.
Service was very good, well above the standard for St Maarten.
We sat outside in a lovely setting. Sweaters are recommended as it can sometimes get quite breezy.
It would be nice if the soups were offered as single servings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panlaan Thai on the Bay also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing