We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service and very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Panlaan Thai on the Bay - CLOSED

Panlaan Thai on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The only waterfront Thai restaurant in St. Maarten. Authentic Thai cuisine in a tranquil waterfront surrounding with both, indoor and outdoor seating...Open everyday. Lunch 12pm-3pm Monday-Friday Dinner 6pm-10pm Sunday-Thursday Dinner 6pm-11pm Friday-Saturday
marietta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

From a person who doesn't really like Thai food, this food was very, very good. Party of 8 including a 10 month old and a 4 year old did not phase this very fine restaurant.

We were seated outside under a canopy (good thing because it poured for about 2 minutes during our meal and we never got wet!). Our waiter, Leon, was very nice and very knowledgable. He helped us order our appetizers, and they were all fantastic. We ordered the chicken satay, spring rolls, fried pork and hot and spicy wings. There was nothing left after my crew got over it.

For dinner, most of my crew got the pan thai in various spices and meats and it was all wonderful. I had the ginger chicken and not only did I love it, so did my 10 month old!!!

But better than the food was the service. The bartender cut up a strawberry and added a little chocolate sauce for my 4 year old. They had wine by the glass, and my wife tried 3 different ones and settled on the Bordeaux blend.

Overall, it was a very, very lovely night for my family and I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legaljacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    61
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“wonderful food, great service, and lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This may be the best Thai restaurant in which I have eaten. The combination of flavors managed to create food that was complex when eaten--first you perceived the soy, then realized there was an underlying heat from ginger or chili. But it wasn't so firey that you were overwhelmed. We sat on their outside patio and overlooked the Lagoon while we ate crispy pork on thai noodles and couldn't decide if the view, service, or food were better. When it started to rain the waiters swooped in and helped move our table back farther under the awnings so that we stayed out of the blowing rain. If you like Thai food, this is a must. If you like other Asian foods, but aren't familiar with Thai food the staff will take the time to explain any of the menu items.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldwanderingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food with wonderful ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The food was wonderful and the seating by the water made it even more memorable. We were able to get seating despite no reservations. Would suggest getting them for a Saturday night! It was a bit windy that night so we had to be a bit weary with the wind gusts but what else to expect on one of the windward islands? Overall wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jet352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thai Food on the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good. We had a curry dish and a shrimp dish with cellophane noodles (can't remember the Thai names). The heat level is accurate: one dish was Hot and the other Medium. The Hot dish (the curry) grew on us as we got used to the heat.
Service was very good, well above the standard for St Maarten.
We sat outside in a lovely setting. Sweaters are recommended as it can sometimes get quite breezy.
It would be nice if the soups were offered as single servings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Thai food I have had in 30 years on island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have been here about 5 times and I have to say that the food is excellent! We went to a birthday party for a good friend of mine and all the people just loved the food and ambiance. I will return to the island on Jan 1 and will be there until April and this will be my go to place for either lunch - love it there then - or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panlaan Thai on the Bay also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing