We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hospitality and food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panlaan Thai on the Bay - CLOSED

Panlaan Thai on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The only waterfront Thai restaurant in St. Maarten. Authentic Thai cuisine in a tranquil waterfront surrounding with both, indoor and outdoor seating...Open everyday. Lunch 12pm-3pm Monday-Friday Dinner 6pm-10pm Sunday-Thursday Dinner 6pm-11pm Friday-Saturday
Midwest
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we entered Panlaan, we were treated as VIP guests. The young servers are clearly very friendly and well-schooled in finer dining etiquette, and are expertly adroit in being "present" without being overbearing. The appetizers we had (crispy pork, fried tofu with chili sauce) were simply incredible -- this venue might be excellent for a "drinks & tapas"-type experience. The noodle dishes were tasty in their own right. Our server also treated us to 2 glasses of champagne for our special night, prior to arranging a cab for us. The manager had us relax and collected us when it arrived.

All in all, a perfect final night & a wonderful last memory of St Maarten for now. We shall return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stranieri_divertenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    61
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
187 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“New to Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from Panlaan. THe food was excellent and the service marvelous. The owner is in the house and he stopped by to be certain everything was to our satisfaction. The restaurant is quiet - on the lagoon and there was a nice breeze. We were a party of 3 and we had three different types of food from curry to stir fry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dmount2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Va
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just returned from SXM and ate at this restaurnat last Friday and I have to say it was excellent. We live in DC and there are hundreds of top quality Thai restuarants and Panlaan rates witht he best of them here. We ordered a chicken curry which was very tasty and spiced enough where it was not overwhelmingly hot. Also ordered jumbo prawn fried rice whichwas quite spicy even at the mild order and came with some huge prawns. They give you a decent amount of food and we had leftovers something uncommon in SXM. Overall an excellent restaurant, priced a bit high for Thai food but it's the island so you kind of have to expect that. The ambiance is very nice and simple, located on the water but if it gets hot outside you'll pay the price as I did not see any fans. We plan to return again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dow20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

great food! we were on a cruise ship but wanted to try something different and were not disappointed. Appetizers were yum, as was our main course. tom

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Service and Wonderful Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Many of us had the Pad Thai and were not disappointed. Appertizers were different and enjoyable. Will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PPB_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panlaan Thai on the Bay also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing