We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner by the sea”
Review of Panlaan Thai on the Bay - CLOSED

Panlaan Thai on the Bay
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The only waterfront Thai restaurant in St. Maarten. Authentic Thai cuisine in a tranquil waterfront surrounding with both, indoor and outdoor seating...Open everyday. Lunch 12pm-3pm Monday-Friday Dinner 6pm-10pm Sunday-Thursday Dinner 6pm-11pm Friday-Saturday
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner by the sea”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

great food! we were on a cruise ship but wanted to try something different and were not disappointed. Appetizers were yum, as was our main course. tom

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    61
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Service and Wonderful Thai”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Many of us had the Pad Thai and were not disappointed. Appertizers were different and enjoyable. Will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PPB_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Safe bet”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Panlaan came first in the Simpson bay area, so we went for this safe bet and we were not disappointed. Lovely spot, a bit windy last night out on the deck. Food was very good (starters: satay and cheese/shrimp wontons, mains: vegetarian fried rice and shrimps in a ginger broth), wine was fine, the pace was excellent. If there is anything to moan about, it was the waiters. They were kind, but not all of them felt entirely comfortable in their role it seemed. A bit of "swung" would have gotten them the 'excellent' rating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been coming to St Martin for about 25 years, at least 1 or 2 times every year without fail. Someone suggested going here for Thai food. We didn't really think about St Martin and Thai food in the same sentence and fluffed it off.
We were getting board of the same places we have gone to for years , so one night we gave it a shot - weird location (but it is St Martin) and were pleasantly surprised.
The service was amazing, the food was really unexpected. I would call it Pan-Asian food as that might get you beyond any fears you might have of what Thai food it. We loved it so much we went back a couple of nights later. We also have told our friends who will be leaving any day now to also make sure they dont miss this great and unexpected find.
The summer rolls we ok, good but for the money, we passed the second night around. I had the Stir Fry - amazing. Go with the mild unless you really like spicey. The mild is rather spicey but, oh sooooo good.
The only disappointment is the water. You must purchase either the flat or sparkling water at $6/ bottle which I felt was excessive. Because of that, we didnt order beer or wine. I love to drink lots or water along with my booze but due to the price of the water skipped the wine/beer because i was paying for something that is out of the tap for free. Plus, I dont like to waste plastic bottles when it isnt needed.
Make this one of your stops - you wont be disappointed! You have to look for it, and dont be discouraged it is behind an apartment building, once you walk to the waterfront, you will be very surprised!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalyDesigns, Public Relations Manager at Panlaan Thai on the Bay, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. We hope to see you again soon! Next time, please don't hesitate to ask your waiter for tap water, we offer it at no cost. We also share your environmental concerns, and for this reason our water bottles are made with recycled glass.

Thanks again

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gem worth looking for”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I agree with previous posts regarding difficulty finding the restaurant but boy is it worth finding. Our server was wonderful as was the service and food. We had satay, cheese puffs and lettuce wraps for appetizers. The four of us all had different entrees and all were fabulous. The prices and ambience were great. What more could you ask for?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mn-mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panlaan Thai on the Bay also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing