We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Friendly Service”

The Palms Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our little Caribbean style restaurant has so much to offer: Laid back ambiance, great service, but the most important, delicious home cooked meals that will make you come back for more again and again. Like us on Facebook and be part of our community!
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
191 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Took a friend of mine to The Palms on Valentines days for dinner. The staff treated us like good friends and food was out of this world. I will be back again. Please do not be put off by the outside appearance, compared to some of the big restaurants across the street. I been to both and I will go back to The Palms over them any time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Smith6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    88
    23
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best margaritas!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I went to the Palms not once but twice on our honeymoon. The owner, Greg, is awesome not only at cooking and owning a restaurant, but also at being a local tour guide. We stopped into the Palms on our second night there amidst a rain storm and Greg was there to greet us with a smile and a beer! He even put the Steeler game on for us on the tv! He has great advice on where to go and what to do on the island, even gave us a recommendation for a fantastic French restaurant on the French side. We had to go back the last night we were there because it has the best atmosphere and the most amazing margaritas! You won't be disappointed at the Palms!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angpeconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A GEM in St. Maarten”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our visit to St. Maarten and it definitely was two of our best meals while on the island. Greg is a fantastic host, who takes the time to talk to you, he is very personable and an excellent cook. Everyone must try his drunken ribs....We have never had such delicious, fall off the bone ribs before. Joelle makes fabulous sangria...she is such a wonderful part of the establishment...very cheery.
It was so good, we returned with friends later in the week, who raved about it. My second visit I had the red snapper which was yummy and of course the sangria...Greg, we wish you all the best and can't wait to return to St. Maarten of The Palms....
From
D and D

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canadasunny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Relaxing dining with great food”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Make an effort to find this wonderful little restaurant. 3 of the four of us had the ribs and they were to die for, seriously. This meal comes with two sides. One person had the snapper and also loved it. FYI, if you order the snapper be prepared to wait a bit as Greg does things to perfection. We enjoyed a glass of wine and the weather. The service was very friendly and Greg the owner/chef spend a few minutes chatting with us at the end of the meal. Although we did not eat the lasagna, a couple beside us said it was delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Meal and great Proprietors”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I went to The Palms twice on my January 2014 vacation to St.Maartin. I had the Red Snapper which Ron goes to the market every morning to pick out that evenings catch. Greg than barbeques it up out back for your dinner. Friends had the drunken ribs and curried chicken which they raved about. I am not a desert person but Genève's home made carrot cake and brownie's made fresh everyday are a must! The restaurant is owned and operated by a Mother, Father and Son originally from Toronto. These three make your visit just as delightful as the delicious food. Don't miss out on an overall great night out! Greg, Genève and Ron see you next year Janice

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palms Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Palms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing