We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broom Closet Room”
Review of Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed December 30, 2009

After spending a day trying to leave St. Maarten our flight was cancelled. The airport tourist information office helped find us a hotel. We did not seem to have a choice in where we would be sent as the TO only made one recommendation which was described as a hotel with a balcony view of either the ocean or the bay. Either one sounded pretty good after a long day of standing in line. We arrived at the hotel, paid for our room and handed a key. Upon entry to the room we were shocked to find four concrete walls and a bathroom, with two beds and a light on the wall. That;s it! The front desk did not seem to care as they already had our money. We were too tired to fight the issue so we just went to bed, being cerain to set our alarm for an early departure. At 07:00 after a night of sensory deprivation, except for the running toilet, we left as quickly as we could. Just before exiting, I noticed the broom closet (storage room) at the end of the hall was the same size only with different ammenities. Next time we'll take our chances with the recommendations from a taxi driver and won't pay him unitl we're satisfied with the accommodations. Recommendation to all weary travelers, STAY AWAY, SLEEP ON THE BEACH.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank olegar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2008

I have stayed twice at the Travel Lodge. It is good for an over-nighters. The rooms are clean and adequately comfortable. There are several really nice restaurants nearby, also a small supermarket. In the morning there is a delightful cafe serving breakfast on the premises. I use this hotel because of it's location near the airport. I frequently travel to Saba and the flight connections always require an over night in St. Maarten. The travel Lodge is an economical solution for me.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GC104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at Travel Inn on our Anniversary. Though it was a great step up from the place someone had suggested to us it was not without it faults. there is a distinct small of decay which may be animal (i hope not human),lingering in the hall. The brochure promises an ocean view, being trusting folks we spent many hours looking for it. We were sadly disappointed.

The room though was fairly clean. The receptionist who checked us in was exellent. And very importantly the water pressure was great.

Then we woke up!!! At the front desk was the most unhelpful rude person it has been my misfortune to come in contact with. He turn unhelpfulness into a fine art. He knew nothing about St. Maaten (or so he would have us believe),and he was quite proud of that fact.

What made our trip wonderful was the bagel shop downstairs.The staff made you feel welcome discussed your order with you and were practically tripping over themselves to make sure you were okay. On closer investigation we found they were not natives.

The Pasta cafe across the street is great though. It is also situated in an ideal spot.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank traveller101Anu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We have been going there since it opened 4 or 5 years ago but it's gone down hill fast. Place doesn't seem to have been painted or even cleaned well since it opened. We use it for business travel because it's close to the airport when staying overnight between flights but would not stay there otherwise. It has internet access in some rooms for a fee for email. Area around it is a noisy, dirty, busy area, with barely tolerable restaraunts. There is a small grocery store next door.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank captjoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

I stayed there for a couple of days on a bussiness trip and I just have to say, it's PERFECT! It is just walking distance to anything you'd have planned for your stay. If your looking for really good bagels there is a bagel shop right in front of the Inn. The great thing about it is that I had to leave for an early morning flight and I wanted to have a final good breakfast, and it opened for my convenience at 5:30 in the morning upon REQUEST!
Other than that the rooms are very spacious and clean. If your planning to stay a few days and want a little extra cash on hand, this is the perfect place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Carib_Traveler223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2005

My finacee and I spent one evening at the Travel Inn last week and had an ok time. First off, it is on a busy street 5 minutes from the airport. I was a bit worried that the airplanes would make too much noise throughout the night, but found that we didn't even notice them after we arrived.

The hotel was very clean, and the rooms were spacious.

The hotel is located in a rather busy area of the Dutch side of St. Martin, and there are numerous restaurants within a short walking distance (1-10 minutes), and there is even a small grocery store right next to the hotel.

The beach that is metioned that is "walking distance" from the hotel is very nice and beautiful.

For the amount of money that we paid ($126 US total from Expedia), I think that the Travel Inn was a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John-M76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2004

The Travel Inn is NOT a friendly place. The guy who checked us in acted like he was doing us a big favor. The rooms were actually quite nice, but we were on the street side, and we just about leaped out of our beds a dozen times as various loud vehicles raced by during the night.

Then the next morning, we asked to check out an hour late -- noon -- and could we leave our water bottles in the fridge. A different guy behind the desk said we could stay an extra hour since the hotel was not full and offered to have the maid bring our water bottles down to his fridge to ensure they didn't get lost.

We came back at noon and the first guy from the night before was there. He had a fit that we "expected" to be able to check out late, our water was gone, and he practically accused us of stealing a phone book since we'd borrowed one the evening before and had accidently left it in our room. On top of that, we asked if we could at least use a rest room since he would only let us return to our rooms to look for the missing water (he did replace our water since it was gone). He told us to go out back by the laundry to use the general restroom, but when we got there, the guy in the laundry would not let us use it. You would have thought the john was Ft. Knox.

This place is so customer-UNfriendly that I'd warn anyone to go anywhere else.

But if you want a really good bagel, right in front of the Travel Inn is the House of Bagels and the folks there are very nice.

11  Thank wlechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.5 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turquoise Shell Inn
Turquoise Shell Inn
#6 of 7 in Simpson Bay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Airport Road 15, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $104 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Built 40-room Hotel, 1 Mile From St Maarten Airport, Within Walking Distance To Many Restuarants, Beaches, Water Sports And Casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Simpson Bay
Travel Inn Lodge
Travel Inn Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing