We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of 3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We tried ths restaurant on a recommendation and really enjoyed it. The seating on the water is excellent. Food was outstanding. Musician was OK....but ambiance was very nice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Chief959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reston va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Like many others we, 4 of us, picked this because fo the reviews. It really was not all that great. I guess because of the reviews I was expecting much more but not so good. I just read another review before doing mine and laughed because we ordered almost the same thing. The Lobster rav, was not good, goat cheese salad was like a cheap wrapped wonton on wilted lettuce. The soup was ok, not great but ok. I cannot remember what the other couple had but they did not like theirs either.
Service was ok, friendly people. I would not go back there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
“Dont reccomend”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This restaurant was terrible. The lobster ravioli was hard and undercooked. The mashed potatos were out of a box (tasted like a hungry man TV dinner.). The food sounded way better than it tasted. Burger king is better in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert0690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

After reading the other reviews we decided to give this a try. On the positive side, It has a nice atmosphere - more modern/upscale than most of the places in Simpson Bay and a nice deck on the water. They were welcoming and the server was pleasant. Probably be a good place if you are just going for drinks. The food was average to poor. Really tough to cut the lobster raviolis and they tasted like cardboard. The goat cheese/carmelized onlon salad came out with overly fried spring rolls on top and the only goat cheese and onion on the salad was inside those. The lettuce on the salad could have been fresher. We ordered the seafood soup - not great. Maybe we just picked the wrong things on the menu. Guess we were expecting more but this is Simpson Bay after all and not Grand Case but frankly we've had much better food from some of the beach shacks on Orient Beach. I hope they work on the food a bit because it is a cute place with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coloradohikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The service was Awesome.. It was easy to get to and the food was Amazing!!. I had Chicken and my husband had the Red Snapper plus the Cordon Blue chicken. It was delicious and Andrew the manager was great. He's been all over the world (literally) and has dedicated his time and hospitality to The 3 Palms. The view of the bay was great and we almost felt like we were in Miami with the white lounge couches and chairs. Delicious place :-)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mejules26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Palms Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing