We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 1/2 day with Garfield”
Review of Garfield Fun Charters - CLOSED

Garfield Fun Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garfield Fun Charters is now being operated by Coconut Reef Powerboat and Snorkel Tours. The charters were designed by Bruce Hancock a skipper with extensive local knowledge and who wanted customers to experience the hidden gems of St Martin. A chance to escape the crowds, snorkel in pristine clear blue waters, explore uninhabited islands and have a much more intimate and relaxing experience. We are continuing with his vision and want to make your trip with us one you will never forget.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a great time on this past Friday morning with Captain Alex. Be sure to get there early to enjoy pastries and coffee on the water at the bakery that Garfield shares. The half day trip includes 2 stops, the first of which is at a marine park where the snorkeling was amazing. Take your time with this stop as there is no comparison to the snorkeling you can do on the rocks closer to shore. The second stop was at Happy Bay which is a beautiful spot but a bit too male full frontal for our family. The only thing we'll do different next time is go for the full day trip to get to the other side of the island.

2  Thank sjreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear sjreeder,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write is a great review! We appreciate your input and look forward to taking you out on the full day, 4 stop extravaganza the next time you're on our beautiful island.
Regards,
Captain Bruce and Captain Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

17 - 21 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We did a half-day snorkeling tour on the Garfield. Along with us were just five others, so there was some room to spread out on the boat. This was just a three-hour trip and, unfortunately, the snorkeling was not good due to a recent storm. During the half hour or so out of Simpson Bay, our captain, Alex, said hardly a word unless we asked. Then he would answer our questions about where we were and what we were seeing. We stopped first at Creole Rock and saw nothing in the water at all. We then went to a second site where the views were slightly better, but not much. This, of course, was no one's fault, but that was the end of the snorkeling. We then stopped at a very nice beach near the Radisson for some swimming and just relaxing before heading back.

Pros: great boat ride, nice to see the "other" side of Marigot and other sights; good equipment. Cons: food consisted of French bread and hunks of cheese with soda and rum punch (would have been nice to have some fresh fruit or pastries); the ads promised ample shade, but that consisted of just the awning over the cockpit; although he seemed like a nice guy, Alex hardly gave us personal service and did little more than navigate and answer some questions.

We had a good time on the Garfield, but that had more to do with the wonderful weather, the friendliness of the other guests and the joy of being on the water. The trip was good, but could have been better.

Thank 4Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Voorhees, New Jersey,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for us. The snorkeling was indeed effected by the tropical storm which had passed St Maarten/St Martin a few days before and all charter boats in the area had the same problem; the visibility wasn't the what we expected for our guests. Our 3 1/2 hour half day trip includes snacks which consists of Dutch Gouda cheese and French bread and we've never had a complaint before, in fact just the opposite. The full day charter includes lunch and fruit. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the weather and the company and hope to take you out on the water again one day, perhaps on a full day charter and when the Caribbean Sea is at it's best.

Best regards,

Captain Bruce and Captain Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a wonderful day with Alex, our captain, touring some of the snorkelling sites in St. Martin. The water was still a little cloudy due to the after effects of Hurricane Sandy, but we still had a wonderful time. Alex was very experienced and took us to some really nice sites along the coast. It was really nice to see the island from the water as it gave us a totally different perspective. There were plenty of drinks and the lunch sandwiches were excellent.

1  Thank amk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear amk123, Thank you very much for taking time to write a great review for us. We're sorry the water was still cloudy after the tropical storm but very pleased that you had a great day on Garfield. We look forward to taking you out on the water again when you next visit St Maarten.
Best regards, Captain Alex and Captain Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have lived on the island for over a year and my trip with Garfield was the best day I've had here, hands down! Captain Alex is a laid-back but very informative guide, the perfect combo! We stopped at 4 different sites: Creole Rock, Tintamarre, Pinel Island, and Happy Bay. Swam with sea turtles, saw eels, eagle rays, so many diverse and beautiful kinds of fish, and had all the sun and fun you could ever want. The trip included lunch and delicious snacks, beer and rum punches, as well as plenty of water to rehydrate. It would have been cheap at twice the price! Thanks, Captains Bruce and Alex, for memories I will treasure forever.

Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Larissa M,
Thank you very much for the great review! We're so pleased you had a wonderful day and hope to take you out on the water again in the not too distant future. If you have any photos you'd like to share please forward them to us and I'll put them on our FB page.
Regards,
Captain Bruce and Captain Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We never miss an opportunity to snorkel (4-stops) with the crew of the Garfield. My wife and I joined a group of 6 other divers and had a GREAT time. "Our" Captain (Alex) was excellent and couldn't do enough to ensure a memorable trip. The owner (Bruce) met us at the beginning (offering suggestions) and end of the day - making sure we had fun. We are already looking forward to next year - the 1st week of October - to book another day trip.. Thank you Lorna, for taking care of all our needs. You never disappoint! Dean & Kathy Maccagnone

Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Dean and Kathy,
Thank you for taking the time out of your hectic schedule to write a lovely review for us. We look forward to seeing you both each year and helping you relax from your busy lives. See you next year.
Best regards,
Capt Bruce, Capt Alex and Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Fun Charters also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing