We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best island day of the year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garfield Fun Charters - CLOSED

Garfield Fun Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garfield Fun Charters is now being operated by Coconut Reef Powerboat and Snorkel Tours. The charters were designed by Bruce Hancock a skipper with extensive local knowledge and who wanted customers to experience the hidden gems of St Martin. A chance to escape the crowds, snorkel in pristine clear blue waters, explore uninhabited islands and have a much more intimate and relaxing experience. We are continuing with his vision and want to make your trip with us one you will never forget.
Cupe Coy, Netherlands Antilles
1 review
“Best island day of the year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have lived on the island for over a year and my trip with Garfield was the best day I've had here, hands down! Captain Alex is a laid-back but very informative guide, the perfect combo! We stopped at 4 different sites: Creole Rock, Tintamarre, Pinel Island, and Happy Bay. Swam with sea turtles, saw eels, eagle rays, so many diverse and beautiful kinds of fish, and had all the sun and fun you could ever want. The trip included lunch and delicious snacks, beer and rum punches, as well as plenty of water to rehydrate. It would have been cheap at twice the price! Thanks, Captains Bruce and Alex, for memories I will treasure forever.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Larissa M,
Thank you very much for the great review! We're so pleased you had a wonderful day and hope to take you out on the water again in the not too distant future. If you have any photos you'd like to share please forward them to us and I'll put them on our FB page.
Regards,
Captain Bruce and Captain Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    2
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
“ENJOY - a day of FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We never miss an opportunity to snorkel (4-stops) with the crew of the Garfield. My wife and I joined a group of 6 other divers and had a GREAT time. "Our" Captain (Alex) was excellent and couldn't do enough to ensure a memorable trip. The owner (Bruce) met us at the beginning (offering suggestions) and end of the day - making sure we had fun. We are already looking forward to next year - the 1st week of October - to book another day trip.. Thank you Lorna, for taking care of all our needs. You never disappoint! Dean & Kathy Maccagnone

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Dean and Kathy,
Thank you for taking the time out of your hectic schedule to write a lovely review for us. We look forward to seeing you both each year and helping you relax from your busy lives. See you next year.
Best regards,
Capt Bruce, Capt Alex and Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Maartensdijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A group of med students and I enjoyed an awesome full-day excursion with Alex as part of our post-exam celebrations. Based on the research we did on other charters, this particular one had the best bang for our buck. Everyone met in Simpson Bay at 8:30 AM, and we left shortly thereafter. Since we were on a full-day trip until 4:30 PM, we made several stops including Creole Rock (great snorkeling spot!), Tintamarre Island, Anse Marcel, Pinel Island, and Happy Bay. We were provided with lunch, snorkeling gear, and an open bar at a very cheap cost. Alex was very receptive to how long we wished to stay at each location, which provided for a very enjoyable day. As a group, we decided to spend more time at Pinel Island and were able to disembark for over an hour. All in all, we have zero complaints and would highly recommend this charter to anyone interested in exploring Sint Maarten and its nearby surroundings. You certainly will not regret it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDubb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear JDubb48,
We know first hand how hard Med students have to study while on St Maarten and how little time you actually have to yourselves so we appreciate the great review you sent and we look forward to taking you out again when you need to time to relax. If you have any photo's you'd like to share with us, please forward them on so I can put them on our FB page.
Best regards,
Captain Bruce and Captain Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GARFIELD Fun Charter Be advised.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This had to be the most disappointing part of our trip to St Martin September 23-30, 2012. We were going to go on Captain Alan's but a pushy concierge at the Belair Hotel (Lorna) who stated she knew both trips assured us that this was just as good but had even some advantages [cheaper by $20, longer (6 vs 8 h), closer to hotel, more snorkel sites (3 vs 4)]. You get what you pay for. Stopping for gas was a real time waste. Preparation?

The boat had minimal shade which for an 8h trip made the sun brutal. It has no head. It had room for 6 people, 7 if you have someone sit with the captain. There were 10 passengers on the boat and some had to sit on the edge for the entire trip. This trip goes up the lagoon and travels at a no wake pace for hours. This is why it is longer--travelling spot to spot was slow....tediously slow. Snacks included a bag of cut up cheese slices, a bag of cut fruit and a whole pecan pie. No utensils were provided. The drinking started before 9am. The captain did not drink, but the drinking did delay the trip as the beer needed to be recycled....

The stops were long and added time but not much value. Lunch was premade sandwiches which were really tasty. The afternoon dragged terribly. Slow travel and a long day. The mood on the boat in the afternoon was sullen. 8h was just too much.

As a side note and not reflective of this provider, the snorkeling was blah to fair. Vis was good but there were few fish, almost no living coral, few shella, but frequent jellies. All trips go to these sites. There was better, free snorkeling off the little Divy at Little Bay featuring a sunken helicopter, cannon, a ship wreck and a statue . Staged, but interesting and better that what we had paid for.

The Captain was Alex, Friendly and laconic, we felt safe in his boat. More description of the area and sites on the 8h tour would have been better. He took the effort to find us turtles (didn't see them snorkeling) and to see the picturesque iguanas. There were plenty of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.

Maybe the half day trip packs more punch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Mark M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Because we strive to do our best we value your opinion. Lorna did describe the two different boat trips to you and the choice was definitely yours to make - as was the availability at the time of booking, for you to choose the full or half day excursion. Captain Bruce brought a pecan pie to the boat that morning because the bakery at Garfield's departure point was closed and he thought to make up for it to anyone who'd planned to get breakfast there before departure, we thought it was a nice gesture. We're sorry it wasn't cut into pieces but do hope you enjoyed eating it.

Apologies for refueling up the boat along the way. Garfield had just returned from having the deck and topsides repainted and putting things back in place took longer than planned so the decision was made to stop along the way, rather than leave you waiting at the dock for an extended time. Obviously a wrong choice and we definitely appreciate you bringing it up.

The visibility of the day was not up to us of course. Others who went on full and half day charters that week thoroughly enjoyed it and saw sting rays and elusive eels as well.

Once again, we appreciate the positive and the negative input from you and hope to take you out on the water when you next come to St Maarten.

Regards,

Captain Bruce and Captain Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time with Alex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went on the half-day excursion with Alex in late Sept 2012. He was very knowledgeable and safe, and spent extra time to show the young kids on the boat the iguanas, which were a big hit. We went to two different diving sites; the first was in the nature preserve.

Here's a tip - Alex cannot anchor the boat right over the reef; he has to anchor about 100 yards away. You must swim that 100 yards to the reef in order to see worthwhile snorkeling. If you stay right by the boat, you won't see anything. That's not Alex's fault, as he'll tell you the same thing I just did.

The second place we anchored was Happy Bay; the reef, and the fish, are along the rocks; he cannot anchor right over the rocks. But if you go swim out to the rocks (and watch the current, it'll be fun to play in but can take you into the rocks) you will see some very neat fish and eels.

I was very happy with this trip, as was my wife and daughter. We would go again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarfieldFunCharters, Owner at Garfield Fun Charters, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Mark S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to right a great review for us. We're pleased your family enjoyed your time with us and look forward to taking you out on the water again the next time you visit St Maarten.
Regards, Capt Bruce and Capt Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Fun Charters also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing