We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic day!

We did a full day charter with Tony as the skipper and Anthony as his deckhand. They were... read more

Reviewed December 19, 2018
goddessangie
,
Westminster, Colorado
via mobile
1/2 day sail on Moondance

Words cannot describe the fantastic day we just had on Moondance. We ported in Sint Maarten during... read more

Reviewed January 20, 2018
Kara W
via mobile
Read all 30 reviews
  
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
29
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
29
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience moondance gareth skipper island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 30 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2015

We sailed with Garth and Jamarley on Wednesday, and liked it so much we came back two days later for another go.

This is going to sound like an ad, but it's not, we're just happy customers. My father is an experienced recreational sailor. We wanted to sail around while in St Martin, but it would be stressful for the two of us to sail alone with a new boat in unfamiliar waters, which is why we came to Moon Dance for a day charter.

Garth has been captaining sailboats for 26 years now and it shows. He is relaxed, knowledgeable and friendly. He let us learn as much or little about sailing as we felt comfortable with. He and his crew member Jamarley were happy to chat or sit quietly enjoying the great outdoors.

We're no racers but it was fun to get our sails in proper trim and overtake a catamaran ahead of us on our way to Anguilla.

His wife Debby handles the booking and business, she was very nice and accommodating. Garth appears to be well-known at the marina and held in high regard there. He runs a local non-profit sailing school for kids which was quite interesting to hear about.

I'm sure all our recollections are colored by the fact that we had fantastic weather :) All in all, we highly recommend Moon Dance to anyone looking to enjoy St Martin / St Maarten's gorgeous sailing.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank dsjoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2015

Reiterating the many accolades of other reviewers, sailing with Garth and Ian is a guaranteed perfect day! We sailed today with them on racing yacht Sea la Vie. Garth and Ian provide a day of high seas adventure at a relaxing pace, with great food, great music, great swimming, great stories and amazing comfort and vistas from stern platform bean chairs. A Don't Miss opportunity!

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank jmc2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2015

Had a great 10 day vacation on Moon Dance learning to sail this past February. It was easy to learn the basic cruising course with all the practice and great instruction. Our instructors, Iain and owner Garth, were very knowledgeable and did a great job of teaching the basics as well as some of the finer points of sail trim. Each day was informative and enjoyable as we would end our day with a beer and a review of that days lessons. After 8 days of instruction we feel confident to skipper our own boat here on Lake Ontario this coming season. Many thanks to Garth and Iain and the staff of St Maarten sailing school.

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank JodieJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014

This was our 5th trip on the Moondance and it may have been our favorite! Where do we begin....first, it is always an effortless process to book a charter and that's
really when your holiday starts.
Sailing with Iain is always fun. He is an accomplished captain and more importantly, a very patience instructor. We are just beginning to learn to sail and he takes the time to thoroughly explain every aspect of sailing and the boat.
The charter started with a beautiful day on the sail over to St Barth's. We were allowed to sail as much as we wanted to help log hours into our sailing experience. (Although, I suspect it was a lot more work for Iain) We arrived in St Barth's in the afternoon. What beautiful site at sunset from the Moondance. Iain graciously gave us a tour around Gustavo and then we had an incredible dinner at Eddy restaurant. If you ever visit St Barth's go to Eddy's just for the the "Hot chocolate cake" dessert , it is to die for!
On Sunday morning, we went back into Gustavo for breakfast while Iain skipped breakfast to handle all the necessary paperwork. Iain went over and beyond of boat captain he then became "tour guide" . In the short time on St Barth's he made sure we saw all the important historical sites. We had the chance to take incredible photos that would have not been possible without His knowledge of the island. He even backed track just so I could purchase a tee shirt! After the walking tour he took us on a dingy ride over to Governors beach just for photos.
Our return sail was just as pleasant as our sail over. Not once on this short trip did we ever feel rushed, it was one of the most relaxing trips we have ever had. Include this on your bucket list to visit St Barth's on the Moondance with Iain as your captain. You will not be disappointed!

.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank esmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Living and working in St Maarten definitely has its perks! This past weekend I managed to join in on a charter with the Moondance.
What a relaxing way to spend my Sunday. Moondance comes with a fully stocked cooler and a neat BBQ on her stern. Bring your meat along and Garth will grill it to perfection and have it waiting for after you've worked up a good appetite from swimming.
An all time favourite, Baie Long, was our desired destination with a swim stop infront of Karkater on the way home. When in St Maarten, don't miss a day out on the Moondance. Request Garth as your captain and Iain as crew!

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank cathy_sxm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews