We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Place to Stay on SXM”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Upper Balcony Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Pool
Upper Balcony
Bedroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Palm Tree Garden
Garden
Travelers Choice Award 2015
Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
Trip advisor Award 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ronald M
Marco Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay on SXM”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This Villa is the ideal place for a couple to stay.It has every updated amenity you need on an island vacation. Garo the owner is great and on-site manager Theresa is wonderful as well. It is so peaceful and quiet once the gate slides closed you'll think you are in another place. Grounds are beautiful and well maintained! This is close to everything including beaches, restaurants and entertainment. WOW! Thanks very much Garo for a wonderful stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Thanks for your stay and review, looking forward to welcoming you back to St. Maarten!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarelGB
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Garden paradise”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely 2 story apartment located in a beautifully manicured garden setting. We could see the sea from the balcony on the second floor. It was tastefully appointed with comfortable furniture. If you a fan of ice you are going to love having cubed/crushed ice in demand from the freezer door. No problems with drinking the water

Everything we needed was there and any questions or concerns were promptly addressed by the property manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ampmm
Nashua, NH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Villa!”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I just spent a week at this lovely villa. It was beautifully furnished and exactly as described. Theresa welcomed us and immediately made us feel right at home.

Garo made the booking process effortless and was very accommodating when we needed to change the length of our stay by one day.

The villa is in a great location. Within walking distance to Simpson Bay and many restaurants, bars, shops, etc. We chose to rent a car so we could explore the island and would highly recommend doing so.

There are a number of hills to climb walking to and from Simpson Bay which I appreciated as it provided the daily exercise I like to get!

We felt very safe and comfortable at this villa, which was gated, and would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOVE2trav...
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Unit #2 at Blue Pelican Luxury Villas was our home away from home! Garo (the owner) answered all of my questions very quickly and gave me all the information I needed to know about the unit and the area. I asked him about decorating the villa for my boyfriend's birthday and he put me in touch with Theresa, the property manager, as she owns a party supply store in town. Theresa and I set a budget for the decorations and she decorated the unit so very nicely. It was so lovely to walk into the place with all of the decorations.

Theresa even picked us up from the airport, drove us to a pre-planned excursion (booked separately from booking the unit) the next morning, and drove us to the airport on our last day. She is an absolute darling!!! She was always available via phone and email prior to and during our stay.

The unit is clean and well stocked. My boyfriend cooks and I don't think he wanted for anything in the way of pots and pans and utensils. There was even cooking spray and sponges already there. I don't know if the unit was stocked with those two things or if other guests just left unused things there, as we did as well (such as paper towels). The unit is very comfortable and a really nice place to come home to every night.

There is a deli (you can get everything there), a souvenir shop, and a few restaurants very close by. If you don't have a car you have to walk to that area, but it is not too far away at all. If you live, work, or are familiar with New York City midtown avenues then I can equate the walk to about 2.5 avenues away. If you are not injured and don't mind walking in the heat for a "short" distance then you should do fine.
If you want to go further to the main street where there are a ton of stores and restaurants then you can walk there also, but there are a lot of inclines so "walking distance" really just depends on your ability. We did not walk to that area as I considered it too far away and because we found everything we needed from the deli and restaurants close by.

There is a beach right across the street. We opted to walk toward the deli area and entered the beach on that end where you can actually go into the water. When we went the water wasn't the clearest water we experienced in St. Maarten and there was also a lot algae. It was fine, but we only spent an hour there that day.
We love the beach in Philipsburg (we entered off of Front Street by Lizzie's and Caribbean Blend). You can rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for $10. The water is clear and the sand is white. From Unit #2 it costs $15 each way to that beach although there is a free shuttle to Philipsburg that you can catch by Bon Appetite restaurant. We never used that service so I don't know what times the shuttle runs or where it drops you off in Philipsburg.
We also loved Mullet Bay!! Again, the water was so clear and the sand so white. Again, you can rent chairs and umbrellas on that beach as well.

Back to Garo's unit..... Again, very comfortable and clean. We loved it!!! There was also wi-fi which I only had a problem with for half an hour so it wasn't a problem at all. I can't imagine people would hang out indoors the entire time, but tv was limited as far as channels. We had no problems b/c we always found something to watch, but we are not picky about what is on and we weren't indoors most of the time.
If I had to say any cons I would say that the water pressure in the shower wasn't nearly as strong as we would have liked, but they do try to be eco friendly so I understand. Also, I don't know if we just couldn't figure it out or if this is the way the shower works, but the water only steadily came out of the hand held device. The rain head shower would work only if you twisted and constantly pushed a button.
Other than that we had no complaints.

**Note: There is one full bathroom on the top floor where the bedroom is located. We didn't find this a problem, but some might mind this especially if you cannot climb stairs easily (15 steps)**

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy G
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is beautiful and very quiet. The beach is just across the street and there was hardly any other people around it was great. Theresa the Manager was fabulous, she was only a phone call away. She was nice enough to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. We would stay again. There are many restaurants and several markets near by. This place is just what we needed for our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunluvr12...
Pine City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary vacation in St. Maarten.”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The condo was just pictured and the owner was awesome. The location was great and very secure. We had a perfect vacation staying in this condo.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O1976RKpe...
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful villa. well furnished and in very good condition. Would recommend it to anyone. May come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing